Skip to content

Tony Cingrani exits start with lower back strain

Aug 20, 2013, 8:41 PM EDT

cingrani getty Getty Images

Reds starter Tony Cingrani left Tuesday’s game against the Diamondbacks in the top of the fourth inning with what is being called a lower back strain.

The 24-year-old left-hander allowed one run on two hits and a walk before being lifted with two outs in the fourth. Alfredo Simon entered in relief.

A lower back strain is not a serious injury, but Cingrani seems likely to miss at least one turn in the Cincinnati starting rotation and the Reds don’t have many attractive options for replacing him. C. Trent Rosecrans of the Cincinnati Enquirer suspects that right-hander Greg Reynolds, who pitched Tuesday afternoon for Triple-A Louisville, might get a look.

Cingrani has posted a 2.76 ERA, 1.06 WHIP and 112/39 K/BB ratio in 97 2/3 innings (16 starts and five relief appearances) this season for the Reds. Cincy is currently third in the National League Central standings.


UPDATE, 10:10 p.m. ET: Cingrani told Rosecrans that he expects to make his next scheduled start.

  1. jcmeyer10 - Aug 20, 2013 at 9:13 PM

    Yah he strained his back watching Prado’s HR leave the park.

  2. yahmule - Aug 20, 2013 at 9:52 PM

    Patrick Corbin was just a buzzsaw tonight. He goes the distance for a 5-2 win. Six hits, no walks and 10 Ks. He leads the major leagues in first pitch strike percentage @ 70%. He also has the poise of a ten year veteran out there. No matter what’s happening in the game, a strikeout; a home run; an error behind him; his demeanor really doesn’t change.

  3. crookedstick - Aug 21, 2013 at 11:20 AM

    This HAS to be Dusty’s fault doesn’t it?? He gets blamed for every other pitcher’s injury, so his fingerprints are all over this!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2479)
  2. D. Span (2318)
  3. G. Stanton (2251)
  4. Y. Puig (2217)
  5. J. Fernandez (2168)
  1. G. Springer (1984)
  2. B. Crawford (1970)
  3. M. Sano (1798)
  4. M. Teixeira (1795)
  5. J. Hamilton (1716)