Skip to content

Matt Kemp won’t return to the Dodgers on Monday

Sep 1, 2013, 4:37 PM EDT

matt kemp getty Getty Images

Bill Shaikin of the Los Angeles Times has the story:

Matt Kemp, who is hitless in the first three games of his minor league rehabilitation assignment, will not return to the Dodgers on Monday.

“He doesn’t feel good yet at the plate,” Manager Don Mattingly said Sunday. “He’s not pushing us to say, ‘I want to be there tomorrow.'”

Kemp is 0-for-11 with five strikeouts through his first three rehab games with High-A Rancho Cucamonga and has hit just one ball out of the infield. The good news is that he has reported no issues with his left ankle, which he sprained on July 21. The 28-year-old center fielder should be activated once he gets his timing right.

Kemp has appeared in only 62 games this season for the Dodgers and has batted just .263/.319/.382.

  1. jimsjam33 - Sep 2, 2013 at 1:48 AM

    Where does Matt Kemp play when he comes back ? Is he going to replace Puig , Crawford , or Ethier ? Bad chemistry when you start moving players this close to the playoffs .

    • koufaxmitzvah - Sep 2, 2013 at 8:00 AM

      I know what you mean. They struggled so much with a rotation of outfielders during that 42-8 run.

    • moseskkim - Sep 2, 2013 at 12:46 PM

      It’s a dilemma that was bound to happen. But it’s a rich mans dilemma in that they have 4 very good outfielders and they survived kemp and a lil crawfords injuries and won a lot of games. Kemp is not replacing one player.. But we could see lefts against rhp etc. in the end, ethier will probably play less. Can’t bench MVP runner up

  2. rebekahvandyke281 - Sep 2, 2013 at 3:44 AM

    good ost ever

  3. hsven1887 - Sep 2, 2013 at 6:46 AM

    What does CR have to do with this?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3053)
  2. J. Fernandez (2507)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2417)
  4. G. Stanton (2392)
  5. D. Span (2312)
  1. F. Rodney (2116)
  2. Y. Puig (2103)
  3. M. Teixeira (2007)
  4. G. Springer (1973)
  5. H. Olivera (1940)