Skip to content

The Roberto Clemente Award Nominees have been announced

Sep 16, 2013, 3:30 PM EDT


The Roberto Clemente Award goes to the Major Leaguer who “best exemplifies the game of baseball, sportsmanship, community involvement and the individual’s contribution to his team.” Clayton Kershaw won it last year.  The 2013 nominees — one per team — were just announced and are listed below.

And now my annual complaint, albeit a minor one: Baseball has set up a fan voting aspect to this. Which makes no sense because (a) I can see no way which your average fan can gauge a player’s community involvement, either quantitatively or qualitatively; and (b) if they can’t, it’s just a fan popularity vote, which shouldn’t be a part of an award that is about something like community involvement. OK, I’m done with that. UPDATE: I’m told that fan voting is only 1/18 of the overall criteria for the award. With it weighing that lightly, my complaint should be taken just as lightly.

The nominees:

Arizona Diamondbacks – Aaron Hill
Atlanta Braves – Tim Hudson
Baltimore Orioles – Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox – Craig Breslow
Chicago Cubs – Anthony Rizzo
Chicago White Sox – Hector Santiago
Cincinnati Reds – Bronson Arroyo
Cleveland Indians – Justin Masterson
Colorado Rockies – Todd Helton
Detroit Tigers – Miguel Cabrera
Houston Astros – Jose Altuve
Kansas City Royals – Billy Butler
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – Jered Weaver
Los Angeles Dodgers – Adrian Gonzalez
Miami Marlins – Logan Morrison
Milwaukee Brewers – Jonathan Lucroy
Minnesota Twins – Justin Morneau
New York Mets – David Wright
New York Yankees – David Robertson
Oakland Athletics – Sean Doolittle
Philadelphia Phillies – Chase Utley
Pittsburgh Pirates – Andrew McCutchen
St. Louis Cardinals – Carlos Beltran
San Diego Padres – Mark Kotsay
San Francisco Giants – Barry Zito
Seattle Mariners – Raul Ibañez
Tampa Bay Rays – David Price
Texas Rangers – Ian Kinsler
Toronto Blue Jays – J.P. Arencibia
Washington Nationals – Ryan Zimmerman

Justin Morneau was obviously nominated while still with the Twins.

The winner will be announced during the World Series.

  1. tc4306 - Sep 16, 2013 at 3:37 PM

    Fully agree than fan voting should not be part of this.

  2. tfbuckfutter - Sep 16, 2013 at 3:52 PM

    Can’t really form an opinion as I know nothing about any of these guys contributions beyond their performance on the field.

    I imagine most people are in the same boat, so they are just going to vote for the hometown guy because of their fandom or because they are actually familiar with his actions.

    • The Dangerous Mabry - Sep 16, 2013 at 4:03 PM

      The killer is that even if local fans are aware of their guy’s contributions to the community, they almost certainly don’t know much about the OTHER players, and so it’s going to be awfully hard for them to make an informed decision about who is most deserving.

      • jwbiii - Sep 16, 2013 at 5:57 PM

        Exactly. I know that Anthony Rizzo, a cancer survivor himself, does work with children’s cancer charities, and I believe this to be a fine and noble thing. But (picks random name off list) I know nothing about Logan Morrison’s charitable activities.

        Ok, Morrison is trying to promote community activism among children.

  3. Stiller43 - Sep 16, 2013 at 4:24 PM

    Fan voting should be involved in almost nothing. Unless youre strictly trying to figure out who the most popular player is.

    Definitley not all star votes and definitely not this

  4. scoutsaysweitersisabust - Sep 16, 2013 at 4:32 PM

    Adam Jones was nominated last year as-well. He must be doing something right to get the nod two years running.

    • dlf9 - Sep 16, 2013 at 4:39 PM

      Repeat nominations are pretty frequent. Tim Hudson, among others, has been nominated before.

    • tfbuckfutter - Sep 16, 2013 at 5:29 PM

      Legitimately good guys don’t turn into turds overnight generally.

      And I also doubt there is much competitiveness in this area….”I gotta do more charity than my teammates….ohhh man, Mike just volunteered at Habitat for Humanity, guess I gotta spend my weekend at the soup kitchen.”

  5. osfandlg1 - Sep 16, 2013 at 4:45 PM

    With social media such as it is today MLB should post bios about what each player is doing for their community so fans would have an idea and cast a more knowledgeable vote rather than just doing like they do at an All Star game and basically stuff a ballot box.

  6. shoehole - Sep 16, 2013 at 4:47 PM

    I read somewhere recently that Justin Verlander donated 1 million dollars to a charity. Would this qualify for the award?

  7. therealmcteag - Sep 16, 2013 at 4:51 PM

    who was so stoned as to put in David Robertson over Mariano Rivera for the Yankees? How much money has he raised for charity on his farewell tour?

    • churchoftheperpetuallyoutraged - Sep 16, 2013 at 8:05 PM

      You should read about Robertson’s charity a bit more, and how he contributes to it.

      • therealmcteag - Sep 16, 2013 at 8:45 PM

        maybe im remiss as ayankee fan. fair enough

  8. paperlions - Sep 16, 2013 at 5:13 PM

    Isn’t there anyone on the Rockies that hasn’t been busted for DUI to make a late night lottery ticket run? Not exactly a trait that is consistent with a baseball citizenry award….obviously, whoever is doing the nominating isn’t taking this seriously, which is pretty offensive to the memory of Clemente.

  9. robocallsplz - Sep 16, 2013 at 7:58 PM

    Really, a guy who posted this picture can be nominated for any sort of community involvement award?

    And a .253 BA exemplifies an individual’s contribution to his team? I know we’re talking about the Marlins, but Jose Fernandez could open the door for an old lady and he’d be the team’s front runner for the award.

  10. mediocrebob - Sep 17, 2013 at 11:35 AM

    Brian Braun not on the list?

  11. kymbo1949 - Oct 22, 2013 at 7:07 PM

    He’s a humble and very worthy nominee

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2822)
  2. B. Crawford (2757)
  3. Y. Puig (2494)
  4. G. Springer (2434)
  5. C. Correa (2368)
  1. H. Pence (2324)
  2. H. Ramirez (2310)
  3. J. Hamilton (2269)
  4. J. Fernandez (2167)
  5. D. Wright (2141)