Skip to content

Ned Yost gets a two-year extension

Oct 1, 2013, 11:32 AM EDT

Boom, Yosted:


Yost is not my favorite manager on the planet, but when you lead your team to the most wins it’s had in 24 years this sort of thing is going to happen. We can quibble about process until we’re blue in the face, but in baseball it’s results that matter, and Yost got results in 2013.


  1. hushbrother - Oct 1, 2013 at 11:55 AM

    Condolences to Rany.

  2. sportsdrenched - Oct 1, 2013 at 12:03 PM

    I think the only manager who is worse tacticly in a game might be Ron Washington. However, he has the clubhouse…so I guess that’s something…I guess.

    Royals missed the playoffs by 4 games. I’m sure we could find 4 games where Ned’s moves cost the Royals a win. So I guess I’m of the belief that Ned kept the Royals out of the playoffs and that their record should have been better than it was. Not that he GOT them to that record.

    • pieman1121 - Oct 1, 2013 at 1:42 PM

      Agreed. I think the Royals had a winning record, DESPITE having Yost as a manager, not BECAUSE he was the manager.

  3. fmc651 - Oct 1, 2013 at 12:29 PM

    Bad move for the Royals. I am not sure why they hired Ned in the first place. There is absolutely no reason why the Royals couldn’t be in the playoffs this season. Ned did the same thing in Milawuakee. He had Prince and roid guy Braun and still couldn’t make it. Soon as Ned was out of the way the make the playoffs.The Royals need to lose this clown if the are to be serious about the playoffs.

  4. paperlions - Oct 1, 2013 at 12:48 PM

    Man, that is a tenuous use of the word “lead”.

  5. notthesicko - Oct 1, 2013 at 2:10 PM

    Now they just need to bring back Chris Getz at second and Rex Hudler in the booth and the offseason will be complete.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2873)
  2. D. Span (2446)
  3. J. Fernandez (2353)
  4. G. Stanton (2351)
  5. G. Springer (2218)
  1. F. Rodney (2157)
  2. Y. Puig (2116)
  3. M. Teixeira (2067)
  4. G. Perkins (1995)
  5. H. Olivera (1866)