Skip to content

Fired as Cubs manager, Dale Sveum joins Royals as coach

Oct 3, 2013, 2:14 PM EDT

Milwaukee Brewers Photo Day Getty Images

It didn’t take Dale Sveum long to find a new gig after being fired by the Cubs, as Bob Dutton of the Kansas City Star reports that he’s joined manager Ned Yost’s coaching staff with the Royals.

Sveum previously worked as a coach under Yost in Milwaukee and in fact stepped in as interim manager when the Brewers fired Yost in late 2008.

No word yet on Sveum’s exact role, but Dutton also reports that third base coach Eddie Rodriguez and bench coach Chino Cadahia were let go, with Cadahia being offered a different role in the organization. Bench coach seems like a good bet for Sveum, who went 127-197 (.392) in two seasons as Cubs skipper.

  1. zzalapski - Oct 3, 2013 at 2:30 PM

    If Sveum returns to the third-base coaching box, KC fans can look forward to many Royals thrown out at the plate.

  2. coryfor3 - Oct 3, 2013 at 3:45 PM

    Really? You gotta think maybe if he waited a little longer, there might be a chance to manage someone else right away. When the Cubs got him, he was a very highly thought of managing prospect. Not with me but apparently other, more important people. Anyway, to settle for coaching right away says a lot about what he was looking for and what others were looking for.

    • Detroit Michael - Oct 3, 2013 at 4:32 PM

      Sometimes coaching contracts let the coach opt out during the off-season for managerial openings. It’s possible that Sveum negotiated for that.

  3. sportsdrenched - Oct 3, 2013 at 4:41 PM

    I would make a “Former Brewers Managers are the new market inefficency” joke. But as we all know, the Royals Front Office wouldn’t know what a market inefficency is because the book Moneyball is from The DEVIL!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2412)
  2. B. Crawford (2314)
  3. Y. Puig (2292)
  4. G. Springer (2066)
  5. D. Wright (2011)
  1. J. Hamilton (1999)
  2. J. Fernandez (1981)
  3. D. Span (1917)
  4. H. Ramirez (1885)
  5. C. Correa (1852)