Skip to content

Red Sox continue attacking, tag David Price for two more runs

Oct 5, 2013, 6:44 PM EDT

Division Series - Tampa Bay Rays v Boston Red Sox - Game Two Getty Images

The Rays managed to get one of the runs back after starter David Price surrendered two in the first inning to the Red Sox. However, the Sox offense has proven to be relentless, adding an additional two runs in the third inning. Leading off the frame, David Ross hit a high fly ball off of the Green Monster for a double, then came around to score when Jacoby Ellsbury dunked a ball just over third baseman Evan Longoria for a double of his own. Shane Victorino perfectly placed a ground ball in the hole between third and shortstop, moving Ellsbury to third. Dustin Pedroia then allowed Ellsbury to score, grounding into a 6-4 fielder’s choice. David Ortiz ended the inning by grounding into a 3-6 double play.

Through three innings, the Red Sox have tagged Price for four runs on five hits. The lefty has recorded only one strikeout.

The Rays’ lone run thus far came in the top of the second on a Delmon Young sacrifice fly against Red Sox starter John Lackey.

  1. aceshigh11 - Oct 5, 2013 at 7:02 PM

    This is getting good…

  2. emdash01 - Oct 5, 2013 at 7:43 PM

    Is it me, or have all of the managers been way too slow to pull their starters this postseason so far? Both games for Maddon, Hurdle with Burnett, Matheny with Lynn, Gonzalez with Medlen…that there have been so many blow-outs so far seems to indicate a weird lack of urgency for the playoffs. I guess it happens every year, but it seems way more common this year.

  3. thedudeabides422 - Oct 5, 2013 at 8:01 PM

    It’s hard for the Red Sox not to attack when they know what pitch is coming at Fenway. How else do you explain a team that hits 50 points better at home every year.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2730)
  2. C. Correa (2596)
  3. Y. Puig (2589)
  4. G. Springer (2511)
  5. B. Crawford (2475)
  1. H. Ramirez (2399)
  2. H. Pence (2366)
  3. M. Teixeira (2282)
  4. J. Hamilton (2254)
  5. J. Baez (2238)