Skip to content

No more bumping: Dodgers stick with Ricky Nolasco tonight

Oct 15, 2013, 4:01 PM EDT

Ricky Nolasco Getty Getty Images

Here’s how everyone found out for sure that the Dodgers are starting Ricky Nolasco tonight: Zack Greinke walked into the media interview room and a reporter asked him if he’s pitching tonight, to which Greinke replied: “Nah, I don’t think so.”

And so unlike in Game 4 of the NLDS, when the Dodgers bumped Nolasco at the last minute to start Clayton Kershaw on short rest, they’ll stick with Nolasco in Game 4 against the Cardinals and go with Greinke in Game 5 on full rest.

Reading between the lines, it seems like Greinke would have started tonight had the Dodgers gone down 3-0, but instead it’s 2-1 and manager Don Mattingly knows he can turn to Greinke to stave off elimination anyway if needed.

Nolasco hasn’t pitched since September 29 and hasn’t started since September 25, when he gave up six runs in 5.2 innings versus the Giants.

  1. bfunk1978 - Oct 15, 2013 at 4:03 PM

    What about grinding? Will there be more grinding?

  2. stlouis1baseball - Oct 15, 2013 at 4:27 PM

    Sooo…how about those line ups Aaron. You still waiting on them? Or are you trying to make me pull my hair out?

  3. losangelesfan - Oct 15, 2013 at 4:55 PM

    He’s well rested, that’s for sure. The Cards will raise their .134 avg. That’s also for sure.

  4. yankeepunk3000 - Oct 15, 2013 at 5:00 PM

    Either go with a well rested Nolasco or Grienke on short rest. Makes sense to go with Nolasco and gamble. Even if the Dodgers go down 3-1 they have Grienke Kershaw And then Ryu on full rest. Just remember the Giants came back down 3-1 and it was Zito Cain and Bumgardner Pitching. Rely on your starters and play one game at a time simple as that.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2533)
  2. C. Correa (2523)
  3. Y. Puig (2522)
  4. B. Crawford (2409)
  5. H. Pence (2289)
  1. G. Springer (2233)
  2. H. Ramirez (2177)
  3. M. Teixeira (2154)
  4. J. Hamilton (2136)
  5. J. Baez (2105)