Skip to content

Video: Adrian Gonzalez puts Dodgers ahead in Game 5

Oct 16, 2013, 6:10 PM EDT

Dodgers first baseman Adrian Gonzalez snapped an early 2-2 tie in Wednesday’s NLCS Game 5 with this monstrous solo shot off Cardinals starter Joe Kelly in the bottom of the third inning:

What can’t be seen in that video highlight is Gonzalez mocking Mickey Mouse ears on the top of his helmet after touching home plate — a jab at Cardinals starter Adam Wainwright, who took issue with some of the Dodgers’ antics in Game 3 of the NLCS on Monday night. Wainwright called it “Mickey Mouse stuff.”

Carl Crawford added a solo blast in the bottom of the fifth inning and the Dodgers lead 4-2.

The Cardinals are up 3-1 in the best-of-seven National League Championship Series.

  1. brewcrewfan54 - Oct 16, 2013 at 7:00 PM

    The Mickey Mouse ears was the best part. He should have done it again after #2. In the meantime Brian McCann is beside himself with anger.

    • proudlycanadian - Oct 16, 2013 at 7:39 PM

      On the second home run he behaved as if he had done it before. Oh wait a minute.

    • mkprz - Oct 17, 2013 at 6:34 PM

      Wait, wait.
      A team is angry over a celebration being inappropriate when their own team, nailed Ramirez intentionally?
      Ask a real ex-Majjor League pitcher and get the true stories on how batters are hit to “send messages.”
      They took a guy out and hurt him for the whole post season, and they worry about Mickey Mouse ears?
      McCann doesn’t not have enough time on the earth to start talking about tradition.

  2. Caught Looking - Oct 16, 2013 at 7:35 PM

    • proudlycanadian - Oct 16, 2013 at 7:40 PM

      Thanks for the link.

      • Jeff M. - Oct 16, 2013 at 8:43 PM

        That is outstanding.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2769)
  2. C. Correa (2619)
  3. Y. Puig (2616)
  4. G. Springer (2577)
  5. H. Ramirez (2499)
  1. B. Crawford (2489)
  2. H. Pence (2396)
  3. M. Teixeira (2324)
  4. J. Hamilton (2286)
  5. J. Baez (2268)