Skip to content

Change of plans: Wally Joyner is staying with the Phillies

Oct 17, 2013, 1:13 PM EDT

Los Angeles Dodgers v Philadelphia Phillies Getty Images

Last week the Phillies announced that assistant hitting coach Wally Joyner had decided not to remain on manager Ryne Sandberg’s staff, but apparently he’s had a change of heart.

Todd Zolecki of reports that Joyner will stay with the Phillies, in the same role, for 2014. He’ll continue to work with primary hitting coach Steve Henderson, who was retained last week.

First base coach Juan Samuel will also be back in the same role.

  1. cabrera24 - Oct 17, 2013 at 1:29 PM

    Awful move . I’m a die hard phillies fan from philadelphia and I’m going admit this organization needs a complete makeover !

    • felser - Oct 17, 2013 at 1:36 PM

      Disagree in the case of Joyner – he is the guy who got through to Dom Brown and unlocked the power potential there. Glad to have him back. I do agree for the most part re: Samuel and the other coaches.

      • commonsenseisnotcmonman - Oct 17, 2013 at 2:02 PM

        Good point, i felt the same way as OP, but that is a very good point. Now if they could just get through to Ryan…..

      • Francisco (FC) - Oct 17, 2013 at 2:50 PM

        Man I would love Davey Lopes back…

    • twpguy1964 - Oct 18, 2013 at 8:43 AM

      Diehard phils fan but yet cabrera24 is ur name? Shut up! Joyner’s bene here 1 YEAR, NOT part of a needed makeover. I think you’re related to Amaro with that stupidity

  2. toodrunktotastethischicken - Oct 17, 2013 at 1:37 PM

    Yes! The season is saved! Plan the 2014 Broad Street parade now!

  3. adimo82 - Oct 17, 2013 at 3:52 PM

    Good, now all they need is a roster full of good players.

  4. earpaniac - Oct 17, 2013 at 5:43 PM

    Should’ve gotten Leon Durham, Ron Cey, and Keith Moreland. I’d pay just to see them. Maybe Jody Davis as bullpen coach?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2782)
  2. C. Correa (2468)
  3. Y. Puig (2456)
  4. G. Stanton (2403)
  5. G. Springer (2323)
  1. H. Pence (2243)
  2. J. Hamilton (2135)
  3. M. Teixeira (1925)
  4. H. Ramirez (1916)
  5. J. Fernandez (1885)