Skip to content

HBT Daily: What to do with the DH in the World Series

Oct 22, 2013, 6:25 PM EDT

The DH may be an abomination to some, but it’s a competitive advantage to the NL, one must assume:

  1. braddavery - Oct 22, 2013 at 6:41 PM

    Do away with the full-game DH. First five innings pitchers hit, every inning after that is a DH in the pitchers spot… for both leagues.

  2. cardinalcrazy - Oct 22, 2013 at 6:50 PM

    How about doing away with the 9th hitter spot overall. Meaning no pitches will hit, and there won’t be a DH. So only 8 hitters will hit!! Ya let the thumbs down begin!

  3. spudchukar - Oct 22, 2013 at 7:08 PM


  4. perryt200 - Oct 22, 2013 at 8:15 PM

    do away with the DH. make the pitchers hit.

    as a Cards fan, I know ours at least take some batting practice.

  5. greymares - Oct 22, 2013 at 8:28 PM

    small price for the A.L. to pay for screwing up the game of baseball.

  6. bjbeliever - Oct 22, 2013 at 11:29 PM

    Kill the DH. Every player should have to hit.

    • bh192012 - Oct 23, 2013 at 1:08 PM

      Yes all 25 players should have to bat.

  7. mrpinkca - Oct 23, 2013 at 1:54 AM

    This year might be an exception, but generally speaking I think that the DL is an advantage for the AL team.

    In NL parks, the teams are on equal footing with 8 everyday starters and a pitcher.
    In AL parks, the AL team has 9 hitters who hit well enough to play every day, the NL team has 8 everyday players, and one bench player who couldn’t hack it in an every day role.

    NL teams aren’t going to waste money on a slugger they can only use to pinch hit and DH 10 games a year.

  8. mungman69 - Oct 23, 2013 at 4:19 AM

    Don’t we just love to let the pitchers bat. On the rare occurrence that a pitcher gets on base he doesn’t know what to do.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

The Jon Lester-Yoenis Cespedes trade is a win-win
Top 10 MLB Player Searches