Skip to content

LaVelle E. Neal III becomes BBWAA’s first African-American president

Oct 26, 2013, 4:01 PM EDT


LaVelle E. Neal of the Minneapolis Star-Tribune was officially named as the president of the Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) at the organization’s World Series meeting on Saturday.

Neal, who has been covering the Twins for the Star-Tribune since 1998, is the first African-American president in the 105-year history of the BBWAA. He served as vice president over the past year and will replace the San Francisco Chronicle‘s Susan Slusser, who was elected as the BBWAA’s first woman president one year ago.

BBWAA presidents typically serve one-year terms, with the vice president moving up the next year. According to the Associated Press, Jose de Jesus Ortiz of the Houston Chronicle was elected vice president today, so he’ll be in position to take over as president next year.

Our congratulations go out to LaVelle and Jose.

  1. larjones64 - Oct 26, 2013 at 4:29 PM

    Well deserved LEN3!

  2. fatheruburu - Oct 26, 2013 at 4:58 PM


  3. mnwildfan15 - Oct 26, 2013 at 5:02 PM

    Way to go Lavelle wavelle. Now smack the sh:t out of all of them and get Black Jack and Tony-O in the Hall!!!

  4. lamborginipercy12 - Oct 26, 2013 at 6:26 PM

    Is it just me or does he kind of look like cee lo green?

  5. Paul White - Oct 26, 2013 at 6:58 PM

    Is this the same LaVelle Neal who flaunted his own organization’s rule by disregarding pitchers as MVP candidates, thus costing Pedro Martinez the MVP Award in 1999?

    Yes. Yes, it is. Interesting they would now choose him to lead them.

    • yahmule - Oct 27, 2013 at 2:10 PM

      Might I also say that LaVelle E. Neal III is kind of a pretentious handle.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Springer (2656)
  2. H. Ramirez (2599)
  3. G. Stanton (2598)
  4. S. Strasburg (2420)
  5. J. Baez (2402)
  1. M. Teixeira (2397)
  2. C. Correa (2373)
  3. B. Crawford (2318)
  4. H. Pence (2316)
  5. B. Harper (2116)