Skip to content

Breaking down Jose Abreu’s contract with the White Sox

Oct 29, 2013, 12:30 PM EDT

jose abreu getty Getty Images

Jose Abreu and the White Sox officially announced their six-year, $68 million contract today with a press conference in Chicago and here are the year-by-year details:

Signing bonus: $10 million
2014: $7 million
2015: $7 million
2016: $10 million
2017: $10.5 million
2018: $11.5 million
2019: $12 million

There’s been a lot made about Abreu getting the largest contract ever for a non-Japanese international signing, but realistically he won’t have to be much more than an average-hitting first baseman to be worth the above salaries and if he turns into a star-caliber slugger he’ll be a bargain.

You can watch video of Abreu’s press conference thanks to our friends at

  1. NYTolstoy - Oct 29, 2013 at 1:25 PM

    just look at puigs deal. If he gets anywhere close to that caliber then he will be a steal. puigs contract will be nothing compared to the money he will get. Same goes here

  2. pipkin42 - Oct 29, 2013 at 4:03 PM

    Besides, teams gotta spend their money on something.

  3. junglerat524 - Oct 29, 2013 at 7:47 PM

    Not a bad contract at all. Very manageable

  4. Old Gator - Oct 29, 2013 at 11:41 PM

    And of course the Feesh, who were reportedly “all in” on Abreu (I guess the Chihuahua meant his hot tub), managed to avoid a free agent ackcherley biting at their lure again, while making quite the show of being “serious” players for this guy’s services. I figger they offered a backloaded $70 million contract with $500,000 the first year, $500, 000 the second year, and $17.25 million each of the next four years – but Abreu’s agent doubtless understood the significance of the remaining “69” when he saw it….

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2830)
  2. C. Correa (2635)
  3. Y. Puig (2547)
  4. G. Stanton (2511)
  5. G. Springer (2464)
  1. H. Pence (2367)
  2. J. Hamilton (2217)
  3. H. Ramirez (2054)
  4. M. Teixeira (2022)
  5. J. Fernandez (1968)