Skip to content

Gold Glove Award winners, as they’re announced …

Oct 29, 2013, 8:01 PM EDT

gold glove award 2013

The 2013 Rawlings Gold Glove Award recipients are being rolled out during an hour-long special tonight (8 p.m. ET) on ESPN2. So get your outrage engines started and follow along as the winners are announced position-by-position …

National League

C Yadier Molina
1B Paul Goldschmidt
2B Brandon Phillips
3B Nolan Arenado
SS Andrelton Simmons
LF Carlos Gonzalez
CF Carlos Gomez
RF Gerardo Parra
P Adam Wainwright

American League

C Salvador Perez
1B Eric Hosmer
2B Dustin Pedroia
3B Manny Machado
SS J.J. Hardy
LF Alex Gordon
CF Adam Jones
RF Shane Victorino
P R.A. Dickey

  1. spacemaker101 - Oct 30, 2013 at 7:16 AM

    A. Simmons has the best glove in the game!!

  2. pastabelly - Oct 30, 2013 at 8:47 AM

    According to statistical analysis provided by which combines UZR and other factors, these should have been the Gold Glove winners for 2013. For the first time ever, these statistics were provided to voters. The following Gold Glove winners were not in the top three from a statistical basis:
    Eric Hosmer, JJ Hardy, Adam Jones, Brandon Phillips, The voters had the information that those four did not deserve their Gold Gloves based on statistics and jumped at least three people. Perhaps everyone here who called out Adam Jones as the 2013 Derek Jeter Reputation Award are on the money. There is little doubt that Mike Napoli did not win the award because voters probably could not come to terms with the fact that this was his first year playing his position on a full time basis. However, the awards actually mean something this year as, for the most part, 14 of the 18 winners were deserving.

    American League

    Catcher – Salvador Perez
    First Base – Mike Napoli
    Second Base – Dustin Pedroia
    Third Base – Manny Machado
    Short Stop – Alcides Escobar
    Left Field – Alex Gordon
    Center Field – Lorenzo Cain
    Right Field – Shane Victorino

    National League

    Catcher – Russell Martin
    First Base – Anthony Rizzo
    Second Base – Darwin Barney
    Third Base – Juan Uribe
    Short Stop – Andrelton Simmons
    Left Field – Starling Marte
    Center Field – Carlos Gomez
    Right Field – Garardo Parra

    • spudchukar - Oct 30, 2013 at 11:00 AM

      When a statistical metric chooses Russell Martin over Yadier Molina, you know it still has a lot of work to do.

      • paperlions - Oct 30, 2013 at 12:39 PM

        It is generally recognized and accepted that statistical analysis of catcher defense remains poor, even by those pioneering the approaches….and that metrics do a poor job for 1B as well, though, much better than for catcher.

      • moogro - Oct 30, 2013 at 1:51 PM

        The problem with catcher is that it needs three or more kinds of awards.

      • spudchukar - Oct 30, 2013 at 8:00 PM

        I hear you, but which one wouldn’t Molina win?

    • ryanrockzzz - Oct 30, 2013 at 3:40 PM

      I don’t think you have to win an award purely on statistical basis, so I’m ok with this. At least Jeter didn’t win. Other sports like the NBA have a bunch of advance metrics, but it’s only in baseball where you piss people off by wanting to use it as only a part of an answer, rather than the entire basis for doing something.

  3. muskyhunter2542 - Oct 30, 2013 at 9:10 AM

    Carlos Gomez is a manamial

  4. cabrera24 - Oct 30, 2013 at 10:24 AM

    Jose altuve is not an average fielder .

  5. broncostevenp - Oct 31, 2013 at 6:22 PM

    Hosmer over loney?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2610)
  2. C. Correa (2600)
  3. H. Ramirez (2573)
  4. G. Springer (2552)
  5. B. Crawford (2354)
  1. M. Teixeira (2349)
  2. H. Pence (2277)
  3. J. Baez (2264)
  4. J. Hamilton (2211)
  5. Y. Puig (2163)