Skip to content

Voting now open for Platinum Glove Awards

Oct 29, 2013, 9:25 PM EDT

platinum glove award

The 2013 Gold Glove Award winners have been announced. Now you can help determine which of those recipients deserves a Platinum Glove — given each year (since 2011) to one player in each league.

Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina has won it both times in the NL and has to be considered the favorite again given his reputation around the league and among baseball fans for his game-changing defense. He won his sixth consecutive Gold Glove Award on Tuesday. Braves shortstop Andrelton Simmons — a defensive wizard with a treasure trove of amazing highlights — is probably Molina’s biggest competitor.

Rangers third baseman Adrian Beltre won the first two Platinum Gloves in the AL, but he was ousted by the Orioles’ Manny Machado this year in the Gold Glove balloting and won’t be eligible for a third.

Voting is now open on It closes next week. So rock it. Or whatever.

  1. KR - Oct 29, 2013 at 9:43 PM

    So how many Platinum Gloves get given out before we vote between them for the Palladium Glove?

    • crackersnap - Oct 30, 2013 at 1:40 AM

      I’m holding out here on the sidelines with my vote until Rawlings opens up the polls for the Unobtanium Award, in recognition of all those hits beyond the GG player with the most limited range necessary to make him appear effective.

      Then I can finally vote in favor of Adam Jones on something.

      • pastabelly - Oct 30, 2013 at 9:02 AM

        He’s a very good hitter and defensive liability.

      • nbjays - Oct 30, 2013 at 4:54 PM

        Sorry, Jeter has a lifetime lock on that award.

  2. thomas844 - Oct 29, 2013 at 9:48 PM

    They might as well call it the Yadier Molina award. He’s going to win it every year no matter what.

    • sportsfan18 - Oct 30, 2013 at 6:37 AM

      Yadi is a great catcher, his hitting the last few yrs has been great too but Simmons, the shortstop from the Braves is the best fielder in the NL regardless of position.

      In the AL, it’s the Orioles young third baseman Manny Machado.

      Those two are hands down the best fielders in the game.

      I don’t have a dog in the fight as I’m a Cubs fan.

      • thomas844 - Oct 30, 2013 at 6:43 AM

        I agree Simmons should win it but Yadier will since it’s down to fan vote. Not taking away from his great defense, but it’s kind of like Jeter getting the popular vote for the All Star Game no matter what his numbers are.

  3. gonderfan - Oct 29, 2013 at 9:54 PM

    And who are the Iron Glove nominees this year?

    • rje49 - Oct 29, 2013 at 10:21 PM

      I’ll nominate Middlebrooks.

    • Walk - Oct 30, 2013 at 2:43 AM

      They call him Dan Struggla. Not only is the pocket of his glove smaller than a baseball his throws leap over first base in a single bound faster than a bullet.

  4. rje49 - Oct 29, 2013 at 10:20 PM

    You… you mean…. ya can’t vote for Jeter ?

  5. asspantz - Oct 29, 2013 at 10:43 PM

    Mmmmm marketing.

  6. bender4700 - Oct 29, 2013 at 11:37 PM

    Wainwright and Pedroia.

    I’m not a Sox fan, not a hater, but Pedroia is just so good. He doesn’t get enough credit honestly. Wainwright, just because a change would be nice, stays with the Cardinals which makes sense. They are just full of amazing talent.

    • sportsfan18 - Oct 30, 2013 at 6:39 AM

      Simmons, the shortstop for the Braves in the N.L.

      Manny Machado, the 3rd baseman for the Orioles in the A.L.

      They are the hands down best fielders in the game.

      I’m a Cubs fan so I don’t have a dog in this fight.

      • bender4700 - Oct 30, 2013 at 2:48 PM

        I would be ok with that. Machado is just insane. And playing out of his normal position. Which is very impressive.

  7. mvd513 - Oct 30, 2013 at 3:41 AM

    Yes, Rock the Vote. cuz its 1992

  8. moogro - Oct 30, 2013 at 2:20 PM

    mmm…Marketing. mmm…fan votes. We need voter suppression here.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3155)
  2. G. Stanton (2553)
  3. M. Teixeira (2481)
  4. H. Olivera (2402)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2383)
  1. J. Fernandez (2351)
  2. K. Medlen (2179)
  3. Y. Puig (2128)
  4. G. Perkins (2083)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2059)