Skip to content

Joey Cora among finalists for Seattle manager

Nov 2, 2013, 6:47 PM EDT

joey cora getty Getty Images

Greg Johns of has the inside scoop:

Mariners general manager Jack Zduriencik has returned to Seattle on Saturday and is beginning the second round of interviews for a new manager this weekend, with former Mariners second baseman Joey Cora among a handful of finalists.

Cora acted as a bench coach and third base coach under Ozzie Guillen during Guillen’s managerial tenure with the White Sox (2004-2011) and Marlins (2012). Cora also spent three years (2001-2003) as a manager in the Expos’ and Mets’ minor league systems.

He suited up for the Mariners from 1995-1998 as part of an 11-year major league playing career.

A’s bench coach Chip Hale, Padres bench coach Rick Renteria, Giants bench coach Ron Wotus, Dodgers third base coach Tim Wallach, Tigers hitting coach Lloyd McClendon and former Mariners catcher Dave Valle have also interviewed for the Seattle job, which was vacated in late September by Eric Wedge’s resignation.

Brad Ausmus, who has already spoken with the Tigers and Cubs, is also in the running with the M’s.

  1. mmason0071 - Nov 2, 2013 at 10:03 PM

    Who should we call the winner in this contest – the guy who gets the job or the ones who don’t?

  2. thisdamnbox - Nov 3, 2013 at 2:38 AM

    Howie & Chucky will try and buy a few week’s of good will with the fans by bringing in a fan favorite, fully expecting them to fail and leave town as damaged goods a season later…Please stay as far away from the Mariners gig as possible, Val and Joey…Wait it out for a Major League job, not a ‘AAAA’ MLB feeder team…

  3. fearthehoody - Nov 3, 2013 at 11:57 AM

    I’m sure whoever it is, my Mariners will fire em 2 years later, keep the front office clowns, and wonder why they can never win

  4. farvite - Nov 3, 2013 at 10:14 PM

    The wrong Seattle team was allowed to leave town.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2484)
  2. D. Span (2323)
  3. G. Stanton (2258)
  4. Y. Puig (2223)
  5. J. Fernandez (2177)
  1. B. Crawford (1998)
  2. G. Springer (1997)
  3. M. Sano (1801)
  4. M. Teixeira (1801)
  5. J. Hamilton (1721)