Skip to content

The BBWAA awards finalists will be announced at 6PM Eastern

Nov 5, 2013, 11:03 AM EDT

Andrew McCutchen AP

The votes are all in and someone at the BBWAA knows who the MVP, CY Young, Rookie of the Year and Manager of the Year award winners are. They’re not gonna tell us who they are yet, but tonight they’re gonna tease us a bit:

The Baseball Writers Association of America (BBWAA) will reveal the top three finalists in the American League and National League for the 2013 Rookie of the Year, Manager of the Year, Cy Young and Most Valuable Player Awards tonight exclusively on MLB Network at 6:00 p.m. ET, hosted by Greg Amsinger, Harold Reynolds and Bill Ripken.

As for the announcement of the winners? It breaks down like this:

  • Monday, November 11: AL & NL Rookie of the Year Award
  • Tuesday, November 12: AL & NL Manager of the Year Award
  • Wednesday, November 13: AL & NL Cy Young Award
  • Thursday, November 14: AL & NL Most Valuable Player Award

Please schedule your outrage accordingly.

  1. historiophiliac - Nov 5, 2013 at 11:59 AM

    I’m penciling it in as gloating — though there’s a chance it turns to outrage when the actual results come out.

    • proudlycanadian - Nov 5, 2013 at 12:22 PM

      Outrage that no Tiger will win the ROY award?

    • mick2014 - Nov 6, 2013 at 4:18 PM

      Matt Carpenter actually has a way better year then McCutchen who had a good but not great year. Since Carp is not a finalist as none of the writers know anything the NL MVP has to go to Goldschmidt! Goldy’s numbers warrant the MVP trophy. The henry aaron award is like sloppy seconds.

  2. pinkfloydprism - Nov 5, 2013 at 12:34 PM

    I told you… participation ribbons. Having finalists is lame… just release the winner’s name and the totals. No need to make people think that they may be the MVP etc.

  3. bronco58lb - Nov 5, 2013 at 1:08 PM

    My guess:

    National League MVP: Paul Goldschmidt, ARZ; Andrew McCutchen, PIT; Yadier Molina, STL.
    American League MVP: Miguel Cabrera, DET; Chris Davis, BAL; Mike Trout, LAA.
    National League Cy Young: Clayton Kershaw, LA; Cliff Lee, PHI; Adam Wainwright, STL.
    American League Cy Young: Bartolo Colon, OAK; Yu Darvish, TEX; Max Scherzer, DET.
    National League ROY: Jose Fernandez, MIA; Shelby Miller, STL; Yasiel Puig, LA.
    American League ROY: Chris Archer, TB; Jose Iglesias, BOS/DET; Wil Myers, TB.
    National League Manager of the Year: Clint Hurdle, PIT; Mike Matheny, STL; Don Mattingly, LA.
    American League Manager of the Year: John Farrell, BOS; Terry Francona, CLE; Ned Yost, KC.

    • pastabelly - Nov 5, 2013 at 1:31 PM

      My differences with Bronco – NL MVP – McCutchen, AL ROY – Myers, and AL CY – Scherzer.

      With McCutchen, the value of a CF and helping to get the Pirates in the playoffs for the first time in several years will count strongly with voters. I think Colon will be hurt from backlash of the 50-game suspension in 2012. Myers beats his teammate based on late regular season hot streak that got Tampa Bay in the playoffs.

      • bronco58lb - Nov 5, 2013 at 1:40 PM

        I should have mentioned beforehand, these are just the predicted finalists listed in alphabetical order. These aren’t my actual rankings 1-3.

  4. sdelmonte - Nov 5, 2013 at 1:22 PM

    How long till MLB follows the NHL’s lead and announces all the winners in a prime time special?

  5. florida76 - Nov 5, 2013 at 2:18 PM

    It would certainly be a huge upset if Andrew McCutchen didn’t win MVP, Arizona would have missed the postseason without Goldschmidt anyway.And both Matheny and Mattingly had much greater resources to work with than Hurdle, who succeeded in changing the losing culture in Pittsburgh back to the winning ways it had often enjoyed in the past.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2772)
  2. Y. Puig (2443)
  3. C. Correa (2437)
  4. G. Stanton (2388)
  5. G. Springer (2297)
  1. H. Pence (2222)
  2. J. Hamilton (2115)
  3. M. Teixeira (1905)
  4. H. Ramirez (1900)
  5. J. Fernandez (1872)