Skip to content

HBT Extra: predicting the MVP, Cy Young and Manager of the Year awards

Nov 11, 2013, 2:43 PM EDT

Kay and I play lightning round and predict who will win the big awards this week. Complete with a dig at Fredi Gonzalez!

  1. chip56 - Nov 11, 2013 at 3:04 PM

    Without having watched their predictions:
    AL MVP – Miggy
    NL MVP – Paul Goldschmidt
    AL Cy Young – Scherzer
    NL Cy Young – Kershaw
    AL MoY – Joe Girardi
    NL MoY – Hurdle

    • mgv38 - Nov 11, 2013 at 4:21 PM

      Girardi is not a nominee.

      • chip56 - Nov 11, 2013 at 4:22 PM

        Well then I guess he won’t win.

    • sfbookreviews - Nov 12, 2013 at 12:06 AM

      You spelled “McCutchen” wrong but other than that, a nice list.

  2. phreakin - Nov 11, 2013 at 5:03 PM

    “The content is not currently available” Awesome

  3. stevequinn - Nov 12, 2013 at 1:27 AM

    The NL MVP should be Yadier Molina. Case in point – when Molina was injured and out of the lineup for 3+ weeks, the Cardinals slumped badly. When he returned to the lineup, the Cardinals started winning again and went on to win 97 games.

    Molina is like having a manager on the field. He keeps Cardinal pitchers on an even keel, corrects them when needed, and is quick to go to the mound to “settle down” a pitcher. A major reason the young Cardinal pitching staff produced so well this year was because of Molina and his handling of the pitching staff. And he still managed to bat over .300.

    If that’s not the definition of an MVP, I don’t know what is.

  4. hushbrother - Nov 12, 2013 at 1:54 AM

    No one is mentioning his name but Matt Carpenter had an MVP season too. His WAR is actually higher than his teammate Molina’s.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2819)
  2. D. Span (2385)
  3. G. Stanton (2292)
  4. J. Fernandez (2282)
  5. F. Rodney (2128)
  1. G. Springer (2052)
  2. M. Teixeira (1996)
  3. Y. Puig (1931)
  4. G. Perkins (1924)
  5. C. Sabathia (1820)