Skip to content

Eric Nadel of the Texas Rangers wins the Ford C. Frick Award

Dec 11, 2013, 10:30 AM EDT

Eric Nadel

LAKE BUENA VISTA, FL — Eric Nadel, the radio voice of the Texas Rangers, has been named the winner of the Ford C. Frick Award. The Fick Award is presented annually for excellence in broadcasting by the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

The fourth time was the charm for Nadel, as he was previously nominated the past three years, only to be passed over. Passed over this year were finalists Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Ken Harrelson, Bill King, Duane Kuiper, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon, Dewayne Staats and Pete van Wieren. There’s a lot of broadcasting talent in that group and no doubt some future Frick Award winners among them. Hawk Harrelson is in there too.

Nadel will be honored during the July 26 Awards Presentation as part of Hall of Fame Weekend 2014 in Cooperstown, N.Y.

  1. fomeols - Dec 11, 2013 at 10:57 AM

    Couldn’t happen to a more deserving guy!
    Congratulations, Eric!

  2. billybawl - Dec 11, 2013 at 12:28 PM

    No knock on Nadel, but too bad that Bill King keeps getting overlooked. The primary strike against King is that as great as he was on the mic for the A’s, he was arguably even better for the Raiders and Warriors. A true triple threat who mostly by choice never went national.

    Why limit this award to one recipient a year? A great broadcaster’s career is much longer than a HOF-caliber player’s career, so the competition for that one spot a year seems unfairly competitive. And personally I don’t mind if we have a “big” Frick wing.

    • clydeserra - Dec 11, 2013 at 1:53 PM

      Mostly agree, but I think the reason he is not being recognized is because he is dead. Can’t give a speech from the grave. (not that I wouldn’t listen.)

  3. skipcastaneda - Dec 11, 2013 at 1:37 PM

    Nice jab at Hawk Harrelson!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2679)
  2. C. Correa (2627)
  3. H. Ramirez (2617)
  4. G. Springer (2602)
  5. B. Crawford (2396)
  1. M. Teixeira (2388)
  2. H. Pence (2326)
  3. J. Baez (2308)
  4. J. Hamilton (2237)
  5. Y. Puig (2213)