Skip to content

Orioles trade Danny Valencia to Royals for David Lough

Dec 18, 2013, 4:49 PM EDT

Chris Davis Getty Getty Images

Kansas City and Baltimore swapped role players, with the Orioles sending third baseman/first baseman Danny Valencia to the Royals for outfielder David Lough.

Valencia was overmatched as a regular for the Twins, but has found a good niche as a part-timer used mostly versus left-handed pitching. He hit .304 with eight homers and an .888 OPS in 52 games for the Orioles this year and would make an ideal platoon partner with Mike Moustakas at third base.

Lough hit .286 in 96 games as a rookie, but he’s already 27 years old and the batting average was incredibly empty with just 10 walks and five homers in 335 plate appearances. He profiles best as a fourth outfielder.

  1. spudchukar - Dec 18, 2013 at 5:05 PM

    Machado must be healing well. And with the loss of McClouth, Lough brings defense to the OF. The Royals had a surplus of outfielders. All makes sense.

  2. xpensivewinos - Dec 18, 2013 at 5:28 PM

    The photo is hysterical.

    It’s a piece about Valencia, but the picture is Chris Davis shaking Valencia’s hand after Davis hit a home run.

  3. kcrobert10 - Dec 18, 2013 at 7:14 PM

    I’m ok with this move. Many royals fans fell in love with Lough but I’m not one of those. He is best as a 4th of and we have lots of those. We do need ins and platoon help with moose at 3rd.

  4. Jeremiah Graves - Dec 18, 2013 at 10:58 PM

    “…and would make an ideal platoon partner with Mike Moustakas at third base.”

    Man…the Royals fans who were really banking on “the process” paying off and witnessing the 2014 championship team led by Hosmer, Moose, Myers, Montgomery, Lamb, and Duffy can’t enjoy hearing that …right?!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3072)
  2. J. Fernandez (2526)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2436)
  4. D. Span (2436)
  5. G. Stanton (2427)
  1. F. Rodney (2152)
  2. Y. Puig (2144)
  3. M. Teixeira (2094)
  4. G. Springer (2002)
  5. H. Olivera (1957)