Skip to content

The Brewers announce the creation of a “Wall of Fame”

Dec 19, 2013, 11:31 AM EDT

Brewers logo

John Jaha, Jamie Navarro, Chris Bosio and 55 others finally get their due!

The Brewers announced Thursday the creation of a team Wall of Honor at Miller Park in 2014 as a way of honoring players who carved niches in franchise lore during their playing days and time as staff members in Milwaukee.

The Wall of Honor commemorates players, coaches and executives who meet a set of critera based on service to the club and/or career accomplishments. There will be 58 members in the inaugural class to be honored on Friday, June 13.

Tom Haudricourt’s story lists all 58 figures from Brewers history who will be honored. It’s quite a walk down memory lane.

The wall is something of an outer-circle honor, as the team already has a “Walk of Fame” for its big-time elites like Molitor and Yount, but there is definitely something to say for honoring the good guys and long-serving fixtures of teams, not just the Hall of Fame talents. Very cool.

  1. El Bravo - Dec 19, 2013 at 11:46 AM

    Ryan Braun joke.

    • NatsLady - Dec 19, 2013 at 12:38 PM

      Ditto. Can’t wait for the debates as to whether Braun should be on the “Wall”. Also can’t wait to boo him when he gets to Nats Park.

      • gibbyfan - Dec 19, 2013 at 1:49 PM

        Wall of shame maybe !!

  2. cohnjusack - Dec 19, 2013 at 11:53 AM

    I love things like this.

    I remember a few years back, the guys at beyondtheboxscore pitched the idea of the “Ray Lankford Hall of Fame”. A fictional place to celebrate and remember guys like Ray Lankford, Mickey Tettleton, Bob Johnson, Bob Elliott, etc. Guys who were excellent ball players but not HOF material…they deserve to be remember too.

    • chinahand11 - Dec 19, 2013 at 1:20 PM

      Totally agree! I think back to the Reds of 1990; Chris Sabo, Billy Bates only at bat in the World Series and last at bat in the majors, Jose Rijo the big dog of the series, Eric Davis crashing the wall, Billy Hatcher, Mariano Duncan. Oh yeah, the “little guys” so to speak who took a place in our hearts.

  3. nymets4ever - Dec 19, 2013 at 11:55 AM

    well before my time but Robin Yount was the man..

  4. florida76 - Dec 19, 2013 at 12:04 PM

    Franchises like the Brewers really have to find creative ways to boost themselves, and this is a golden example. If you wanted to remember good players who fall short of earning team HOF status, there are plenty of better ways of doing so. Creating a “Wall of Honor” is just lame.

    The Brewers have really struggled as an MLB franchise, with a lone pennant to show for roughly 45 years of existence. Few great players and moments as well. The franchise was also rocked by the Ryan Braun fiasco, so this manufactured honor is a way to deflect the damage. Miller Park is also bland as a fan experience.

    • brewcrewfan54 - Dec 19, 2013 at 1:25 PM

      Eat a dick

      • uwsptke - Dec 19, 2013 at 5:51 PM

        A whole bag of them.

  5. sfm073 - Dec 19, 2013 at 12:31 PM

    I think it’s a cool thing to do, but the criteria and the names on the list are weak.

  6. chinahand11 - Dec 19, 2013 at 1:15 PM

    Every team should do this. Create a wall of fame for those fan faves who only played a few years, or had an impact during a good year, or whatev.

  7. brewcrewfan54 - Dec 19, 2013 at 1:27 PM

    Love this idea! Haven’t heard some of those names in a long time.

  8. roanboon - Dec 19, 2013 at 2:39 PM

    If I don’t see Franklin Stubbs, Brian Shouse and Seth McClung on that wall I’m leaving.

  9. drewzducks - Dec 19, 2013 at 3:17 PM

    Sixto Lezcano. Nuff said.

  10. wegogreenbay - Dec 20, 2013 at 10:09 AM

    John Jaha! Definitely worthy!
    Bill Hall? Generous criteria . . .

    p.s. florida76, how’s that bag of dicks going down?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2782)
  2. C. Correa (2468)
  3. Y. Puig (2456)
  4. G. Stanton (2403)
  5. G. Springer (2323)
  1. H. Pence (2243)
  2. J. Hamilton (2135)
  3. M. Teixeira (1925)
  4. H. Ramirez (1916)
  5. J. Fernandez (1885)