Skip to content

Yasmani Grandal likely to begin 2014 season on the disabled list

Dec 22, 2013, 10:30 PM EDT

Philadelphia Phillies v San Diego Padres Getty Images

Padres catcher Yasmani Grandal suffered a torn ACL on July 6 when Nationals second baseman Anthony Rendon slid into him on a play at home plate. The initial timetable for his return was set between 9-12 months and that appears to still be the case, according to Bill Center of the Union-Times. Grandal underwent surgery in early August, so nine months would mark early may as the earliest he could return.

Without Grandal, the Padres’ catching corps will include starter Nick Hundley and back-up Rene Rivera.

Grandal broke out in 2012, joining the Padres for the second half of the regular season. In 226 trips to the plate, he posted an impressive .863 OPS, including a .394 on-base percentage thanks to walking nearly as often as he struck out (31 to 39). He regressed a bit in 2013 prior to his injury, posting a .693 OPS, but still appeared quite capable of handling the day-to-day challenges of the Majors.

  1. mrjameshogg - Dec 23, 2013 at 9:42 AM

    It didn’t seem to me that Center’s aside about Grandal was based on any new reporting–just the conventional wisdom that 9-12 months is 9-12 months even if Grandal claims he’s ahead of schedule. So while it continues to be true that the conventional wisdom may be correct, there doesn’t seem to be anything new here.

    The other big question with Grandal of course is what kind of a player is he without PEDs.

  2. nymets4ever - Dec 23, 2013 at 9:59 AM

    DAE sometimes forget that the Padres even exist?

  3. metalhead65 - Dec 23, 2013 at 11:04 AM

    just take some more of those ped’s that do not do anything to improve your performance according to the experts here and you’ll recover in no time.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2823)
  2. B. Crawford (2757)
  3. Y. Puig (2494)
  4. G. Springer (2435)
  5. C. Correa (2368)
  1. H. Pence (2327)
  2. H. Ramirez (2310)
  3. J. Hamilton (2269)
  4. J. Fernandez (2168)
  5. D. Wright (2142)