Skip to content

Rod Barajas retires, goes into managing

Jan 14, 2014, 4:46 PM EDT

Rod Barajas Getty Images

Rod Barajas has officially called it a career after 14 seasons in the majors, but he’s not going to be out of work: Corey Brock of reports that the 37-year-old longtime catcher has already accepted a new job as the Padres’ rookie-ball manager.

Last season Barajas was released by the Diamondbacks during spring training, with Arizona opting for Wil Nieves to back up Miguel Montero.

Barajas combined plus power with horrendous plate discipline, hitting .235 with 136 homers and a .691 OPS–including a .284 on-base percentage–in 1,114 games for seven different teams.

  1. hardjudge - Jan 14, 2014 at 4:52 PM

    Congratulations to Rod on his new job. He was a class act as a player. May that continue as a manager.

  2. proudlycanadian - Jan 14, 2014 at 4:56 PM

    I wish him success in his new career.

  3. beefytrout - Jan 14, 2014 at 5:21 PM

    catchers make the best managers.

    • stex52 - Jan 15, 2014 at 8:33 AM

      There is a natural fit there. An MLB catcher has to be observing everything on the field and has to direct the defense and the pitching choices. The only question is whether they also have the player development skills.

      But yes. They do make the best managers.

  4. realitypolice - Jan 14, 2014 at 5:57 PM

    I always really liked his last name.

  5. rocketsurgery52 - Jan 15, 2014 at 2:49 PM

    Barajas Realizes He Sucks As Player; Retires To Manage And Teach Others

  6. Minoring In Baseball - Jan 15, 2014 at 8:55 PM

    They always say the catchers make the best managers. Knowing it’s your time, and stepping into a manger job young is a great way to extend a job in baseball. I’m sure he’ll do a good job of relating to the young ballplayers. All the best to him and his team.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2980)
  2. J. Fernandez (2399)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2346)
  4. G. Stanton (2229)
  5. D. Span (2040)
  1. Y. Puig (1972)
  2. M. Teixeira (1939)
  3. F. Rodney (1916)
  4. G. Springer (1894)
  5. H. Olivera (1878)