Skip to content

Neal Cotts, Burke Badenhop, Franklin Morales avoid arbitration with respective teams

Jan 15, 2014, 9:45 PM EST

Tampa Bay Rays v Texas Rangers Getty Images

There is always a lot of “avoided arbitration” news around this time, so enjoy the exciting news.

Per Jeff Wilson of the Fort Worth Star-Telegram, the Rangers and reliever Neal Cotts avoided arbitration on a one-year deal worth $2.2 million. Cotts, soon to be 34, had a fantastic 2013 season, his first in the big leagues since 2009. He finished up the year with a 1.11 ERA in 57 innings, averaging well over a strikeout per inning and 3.6 strikeouts for every one walk.

The Red Sox and reliever Burke Badenhop agreed to a one-year non-guaranteed contract, the Red Sox reported. WEEI’s Alex Speier says Badenhop’s non-guaranteed salary is $2.15 million. Badenhop turns 31 on February 8 and is coming off of a solid 2013 campaign with the Brewers. In 62 1/3 innings out of the bullpen, the right-hander posted a 3.47 ERA with a 3.5 strikeout-to-walk ratio.

Finally, Thomas Harding of reports that the Rockies and Franklin Morales agreed to a one-year deal. Troy Renck of the Denver Post adds that Morales will earn $1,712,500. The Rockies recently acquired Morales, soon to be 28, from the Red Sox for infielder Jonathan Herrera. In 25 1/3 innings with the Red Sox last season, Morales posted a 4.62 ERA with a high walk rate (13 unintentional).

  1. old97 - Jan 16, 2014 at 2:15 PM

    Great news in Ranger-land. Cotts was The Man after Robbie Ross and Tanner Scheppers burned out 3/4 of the way through. It’ll be interesting to see if he can match last year’s performance, but for 2 million bucks, it’s great to have him here.

    • dylanthom2013 - Jan 16, 2014 at 8:51 PM

      Yes what a story Cotts was. Extend him after next season if he has a great year because lefty relievers with his kind of arm and K ability are rare.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. J. Santana (2746)
  2. Z. Greinke (2699)
  3. A. Wainwright (2698)
  4. M. Upton (2560)
  5. M. Saunders (2545)