Skip to content

Mets and Lucas Duda avoid arbitration with one-year deal

Jan 22, 2014, 6:05 PM EDT

Lucas Duda Getty Getty Images

Masahiro Tanaka isn’t the only one getting rich today. Adam Rubin of ESPN reports that the Mets and first baseman/outfielder Lucas Duda have avoided arbitration with a one-year deal worth $1.6375 million. On Friday, Duda filed for $1.9 million while the Mets filed for $1.35 million, making the midpoint $150,000 less than what the two sides eventually settled upon.

Duda, soon to be 28, was eligible for arbitration for the first time and can become a free agent after the 2016 season. He finished 2013 with solid numbers despite a low batting average and playing half his games in a pitcher-friendly park, posting a .223/.352/.415 line. He missed 76 games between June 22 and August 25 with a strained left intercostal.

The Mets were expected to trade first baseman Ike Davis during the off-season, but ended up holding on to him and agreeing to a one-year, $3.5 million deal to avoid arbitration. Such a trade would have opened up first base for Duda. Now that the Mets have a full outfield, Duda projects to start the 2014 season on the bench.

  1. doclolly - Jan 22, 2014 at 6:54 PM

    Well the Amazin’s had to respond with their own big deal so they wouldn’t be outdone by the yankees again

  2. nymets4ever - Jan 22, 2014 at 10:28 PM

    I can’t stand Duda. Plays the game with zero fire, doesn’t hit nearly enough home runs despite his size and strength (and 99% of the ones he does hit are solo shots in blowouts), provides zero defensive value, can’t buy a clutch hit, and has noted confidence issues. If Davis bounces back like I think he will, he and Josh Satin could cobble together a nice productive platoon at 1st. Back to Duda…I hope he gets hot just long enough for some other team to take him off the Mets hands.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2626)
  2. G. Stanton (2522)
  3. D. Span (2427)
  4. Y. Puig (2391)
  5. J. Fernandez (2317)
  1. B. Crawford (2301)
  2. G. Springer (2240)
  3. M. Teixeira (2161)
  4. J. Hamilton (2108)
  5. H. Pence (1980)