Skip to content

Marlins sign Ty Wigginton to a minor league deal

Jan 24, 2014, 9:40 PM EDT

Cincinnati Reds v St. Louis Cardinals Getty Images’s Joe Frisaro reports that the Marlins have signed utilityman Ty Wigginton to a minor league deal with an invitation to spring training. Wigginton will be competing for a bench job. He can play first, second, and third, and even has experience in the outfield corners.

Wigginton was unproductive with the Cardinals last year, posting a .158/.238/.193 line in 63 trips to the plate. He has posted negative WAR in four out of the last five seasons, combining for -2.6, according to Baseball Reference. The only players less valuable than Wigginton, minimum 1,000 plate appearances since 2009, have been Yuniesky Betancourt (-6.5 WAR) and Greg Dobbs (-3.8).

  1. Old Gator - Jan 25, 2014 at 12:15 AM

    Having a ballplayer who can field five or six positions badly and be sent up to bat when you know there’s going to be retaliation for the guy your pitcher hit the inning before is called “depth.”

  2. blues1988 - Jan 25, 2014 at 12:25 AM


  3. eagles512 - Jan 25, 2014 at 1:52 AM

    Worst player in the majors

  4. ptfu - Jan 25, 2014 at 7:20 AM

    “The only players less valuable than Wigginton…Greg Dobbs (-3.8).”

    This is hilarious because Wigginton’s replacing Dobbs on the roster. So Wig’s actually an upgrade!

    Wait, no he’s not. He hit worse than Dobbs last season. And neither is fantastic at fielding.

    Never mind. All is right with the universe again.

  5. rodge1 - Jan 25, 2014 at 7:51 AM

    This is a great signing in 2005.

  6. Old Gator - Jan 25, 2014 at 11:54 AM

    I have to believe that Larry Beinfest is just enjoying the hell out of his vacation.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2543)
  2. D. Span (2380)
  3. G. Stanton (2339)
  4. Y. Puig (2286)
  5. J. Fernandez (2250)
  1. B. Crawford (2166)
  2. G. Springer (2097)
  3. M. Teixeira (1941)
  4. M. Sano (1842)
  5. H. Pence (1793)