Skip to content

Indians, Justin Masterson table extension talks, now focusing on one-year deal

Jan 27, 2014, 10:18 PM EDT

Justin Masterson Getty AP

According to Paul Hoynes of the Cleveland Plain Dealer, the Indians and right-hander Justin Masterson have put extension talks on hold and are now focusing on a one-year deal in advance of an arbitration hearing on February 20.

Masterson, who is due to hit free agency next offseason, requested $11.8 million and was offered $8.05 million by the Indians when arbitration figures were exchanged earlier this month. Both sides have said that they are open to a multi-year deal, but Hoynes hears that “little, if any” progress has been made. Putting aside the issue of an extension, the $3.75 million gap between Masterson and the Indians is the largest among any unsigned player who filed for arbitration, so they’ll have to make a lot of progress to even avoid a hearing.

Masterson posted a 3.45 ERA and 195/76 K/BB ratio over 193 innings last season. He turns 29 in March, so another solid year would put him in position for a lucrative contract next winter.

  1. slaugin - Jan 27, 2014 at 11:16 PM

    Frigging Feldman got 3/30 no reason Masterson should except anything less than 11 mil

  2. stephenolszewski - Jan 27, 2014 at 11:54 PM

    Indians can’t lose Masterson would be a huge blow, hope they can fork out some cash

  3. janessa31888 - Jan 28, 2014 at 7:13 AM

    If they let my favorite player get away (like they have done with so many others) I will never darken the gates of Progressive field again. Stinginess will gain you dollars, but no fans. This is really aggravating. Joe Banner must be giving Chris Antonetti advice on how to be mr. hard line tough guy. He’s like poison ivy, spreading its rash everywhere.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2493)
  2. D. Span (2335)
  3. G. Stanton (2270)
  4. Y. Puig (2239)
  5. J. Fernandez (2195)
  1. B. Crawford (2051)
  2. G. Springer (2011)
  3. M. Sano (1810)
  4. M. Teixeira (1809)
  5. J. Hamilton (1734)