Skip to content

Rehabbing Miguel Sano could be DH-only late in minor league season

Mar 3, 2014, 10:47 AM EDT

Twins Daily Reuters

There’s a strong chance that stud Twins third base prospect Miguel Sano will miss the entire season following Tommy John elbow surgery, but because the operation is easier to come back from for hitters than pitchers the team is leaving open the possibility that he could serve as a designated hitter late in the minor league schedule.

Rhett Bollinger of reports that the overall rehab plan for a position player undergoing Tommy John surgery is eight months, but after four months it’s common to be cleared to swing a bat. That means Sano could be ready to be a DH-only in August and, if not, then at least be healthy enough to get some at-bats in the Arizona Fall League or winter ball.

  1. roundballsquarebox24 - Mar 3, 2014 at 11:04 AM

    Wow. This is very unfortunate. This kid has gone through so much in trying to make it to the big leagues..

  2. chiadam - Mar 3, 2014 at 12:00 PM

    How many position players get Tommy John? I’m struggling to come up with another one.

    • asimonetti88 - Mar 3, 2014 at 12:06 PM

      Roberto Alomar, Jay Buhner, Shin-Soo Choo, Carl Crawford, Rafael Furcal, Luis Gonzalez, Xavier Nady and Luke Scott are a few. As is Jose Canseco. It isn’t as common as with pitchers, but since the recovery time is significantly less it probably gives the appearance that it isn’t as common.

    • karlkolchak - Mar 3, 2014 at 12:46 PM

      Matt Skole for the Nats last year. Injured the elbow first week of the season. Was healed enough by October to play in the AFL.

    • Cris E - Mar 3, 2014 at 12:50 PM

      The first was Paul Molitor, who happens to be a Twins coach.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2564)
  2. G. Stanton (2550)
  3. H. Ramirez (2526)
  4. G. Springer (2510)
  5. B. Crawford (2325)
  1. M. Teixeira (2315)
  2. H. Pence (2233)
  3. J. Baez (2222)
  4. J. Hamilton (2179)
  5. Y. Puig (2129)