Skip to content

Yasiel Puig switches agents

Mar 6, 2014, 11:28 PM EDT

Yasiel Puig AP AP

FOX Sports’ Ken Rosenthal reports that Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig has hired Adam Katz and Andy Mota of Wasserman Media Group as his new agents. He was previously represented by Jaime Torres.

Puig signed a six-year, $42 million contract with the Dodgers in June of 2012 and remains under contract through 2018, so there’s no rush for either side to get a new deal done. It’s worth noting that the 23-year-old can opt in to the arbitration process after three years of service time. If he continues to produce like he did during his rookie season, there’s a pretty good bet he’ll go that route. But there’s still a little while before they’ll have to think about that.

Wasserman also represents fellow Dodgers Hanley Ramirez and Kenley Jansen.

  1. dcarroll73 - Mar 6, 2014 at 11:32 PM

    When I saw this headline, I figured he had gone with Robbie’s agent since he REALLY wanted a 10-year contract with a losing team. I think he and Robbie would enjoy playing together all those lonely years.

  2. okwhitefalcon - Mar 7, 2014 at 12:58 AM

    And he still didn’t throw out Mike Trout.

    • Professor Fate - Mar 7, 2014 at 10:32 AM

      Right, ’cause the cutoff man threw out Trout.

  3. nymets4ever - Mar 7, 2014 at 8:05 AM

    This prima donna came from the dirt roads of Cuba and now has the gall to consider $42 million an insult.

    • Alex K - Mar 7, 2014 at 8:52 AM

      Ummm. Where are you seeing anything about Puig saying that $42 million is an insult?

    • jwbiii - Mar 7, 2014 at 11:57 AM

      Are you suggesting that a player should be paid less because he came from an impoverished upbringing?

  4. mdpickles - Mar 7, 2014 at 8:28 AM

    Puig definitely put on more than 30lbs this offseason.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2756)
  2. Y. Puig (2426)
  3. C. Correa (2379)
  4. G. Stanton (2367)
  5. G. Springer (2271)
  1. H. Pence (2189)
  2. J. Hamilton (2086)
  3. M. Teixeira (1882)
  4. H. Ramirez (1872)
  5. J. Fernandez (1855)