Skip to content

Michael Bourn is headed to the disabled list, Nyjer Morgan makes the Indians

Mar 24, 2014, 1:20 PM EDT

michael bourn getty Getty Images

Indians center fielder Michael Bourn will begin the season on the disabled list with a hamstring injury suffered on March 16, the team announced.

Bourn was a big disappointment in the first season of his four-year, $48 million deal, hitting just .263 with a .676 OPS and career-low 23 steals, and then in October he underwent surgery on the same hamstring that’s still bothering him now. He struggled this spring before being shut down, so the injury is a major worry for a 31-year-old whose value is almost entirely dependent on his speed.

Nyjer Morgan has won a spot on the Opening Day roster after coming to camp on a minor-league deal, so he’ll help fill in until Bourn is ready. Morgan played poorly for the Brewers in 2012, spent last season putting up mediocre numbers in Japan, and didn’t exactly impress this spring, but the Indians don’t have a ton of other options. Michael Brantley also has center field experience, so the Indians could shift him over from left field to avoid playing Morgan regularly. That would create more at-bats for Ryan Raburn and Mike Aviles.

  1. kevinbnyc - Mar 24, 2014 at 1:24 PM


  2. nsauser - Mar 24, 2014 at 1:34 PM

    Thank god the Braves dodged the Bourn bullet. Now if we can find someone to take BJ Upton and Uggla!

    • tribebuckeyesteelercavfan - Mar 24, 2014 at 2:57 PM

      its a minor injury and he still is by far the superior player to upton

      • nsauser - Mar 24, 2014 at 4:56 PM

        I was talking about Bourn’s deal, which is going to end up dead money just like BJ. I’m just glad the Braves didn’t cave to Bourn’s demands.

  3. thepancakebandit - Mar 24, 2014 at 5:23 PM

    Good for T Plush. I always enjoyed watching that crazy SoB play.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2540)
  2. D. Span (2378)
  3. G. Stanton (2336)
  4. Y. Puig (2279)
  5. J. Fernandez (2246)
  1. B. Crawford (2164)
  2. G. Springer (2093)
  3. M. Teixeira (1928)
  4. M. Sano (1837)
  5. J. Hamilton (1789)