Skip to content

2014 Previews: National League Central

Mar 31, 2014, 10:00 AM EDT

adam wainwright getty Getty Images

For the past few weeks we’ve been previewing the 2014 season. Here, in handy one-stop-shopping form, is our package of previews from the National League Central.

The Cardinals won the pennant, but they got even better. The Reds and Pirates stood mostly pat. The Brewers have Ryan Braun back, but will that get them anything more than boos? And are the Cubs anywhere closer to contention now?

Below are our team-by-team previews for the NL Central as well as our HBT Extra feature on the division:

St. Louis Cardinals
Cincinnati Reds
Pittsburgh Pirates
Milwaukee Brewers
Chicago Cubs

  1. cincinata - Mar 31, 2014 at 10:08 AM

    Craig, thanks for the review. However, my picks are as follows:


    And, Milwaukee could challenge the Reds for 3rd, if they continuing hitting like this Spring. Pitching may be a problem.

    • bfunk1978 - Mar 31, 2014 at 11:03 AM

      I think the Pirates are super-improved the last couple of years, and Gregory Polanco will eventually come up and rake, but I don’t think they’re as good as the Cardinals yet. Wild card? Sure, I’d buy that. But not the division.

  2. jm91rs - Mar 31, 2014 at 11:34 AM

    The still image you used of Bronson Arroyo looks like he’s about to do the Karate Kid crane kick.

  3. chiadam - Mar 31, 2014 at 12:11 PM

    The Cubs are undefeated!

  4. musketmaniac - Mar 31, 2014 at 1:12 PM

    lol, espn announcer talking about the tremendous losses we had during the off season. wow go back one year. Are we not trotting out almost the same opening day line up. NOTE. Byrd and morneu were rentals, you return rentals.

  5. miguelcairo - Mar 31, 2014 at 3:40 PM

    I like Craig’s 1-5.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. C. Correa (2507)
  2. G. Stanton (2500)
  3. Y. Puig (2495)
  4. B. Crawford (2387)
  5. H. Pence (2251)
  1. G. Springer (2210)
  2. H. Ramirez (2132)
  3. M. Teixeira (2127)
  4. J. Hamilton (2108)
  5. J. Baez (2083)