Skip to content

Red Sox place Shane Victorino on disabled list, recall Jackie Bradley Jr.

Mar 31, 2014, 11:19 AM EDT

Shane Victorino AP

Jackie Bradley Jr. is on the Red Sox’s Opening Day roster after all, but it took an injury for Shane Victorino to make it happen.

Bradley lost the center field job to Grady Sizemore and was sent to Triple-A after hitting just .158 during spring training, but he’s been recalled from the minors because Victorino is headed to the disabled list with a strained hamstring.

Bradley, however, is not in the Opening Day lineup. Daniel Nava is getting the start in right field and Mike Carp is getting the start in left field against Orioles right-hander Chris Tillman.

  1. 18thstreet - Mar 31, 2014 at 12:14 PM

    F’ing Ellsbury.

    • pastabelly - Mar 31, 2014 at 12:16 PM

      What does this have to do with Ellsbury???????

      • 18thstreet - Mar 31, 2014 at 12:17 PM

        Sorry — an outfielder got injured. I was just tried to break TBuckFutter to the punch.

        All injuries are an opportunity to mention that Jacoby Ellsbury gets injured.


  2. sabatimus - Mar 31, 2014 at 12:40 PM

    .158 is very bad. But that .213 OBP? Utterly brutal.

    • 18thstreet - Mar 31, 2014 at 12:46 PM

      True story. And still, that batting average is 21 points higher than Jeter’s.

      • churchoftheperpetuallyoutraged - Mar 31, 2014 at 12:51 PM

        Who’s ready to see Jeter bat first or second all year?!? This guy!


  3. 18thstreet - Mar 31, 2014 at 12:51 PM




  4. deathmonkey41 - Mar 31, 2014 at 1:28 PM

    The Red Sox made it clear to Victorino in no uncertain terms that they don’t want him sitting around the house and eating Cannolis while he’s on the DL.

    • buggieowens - Mar 31, 2014 at 1:37 PM

      So it’s leave the Cannoli; take the bat?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2495)
  2. D. Span (2337)
  3. G. Stanton (2272)
  4. Y. Puig (2240)
  5. J. Fernandez (2196)
  1. B. Crawford (2054)
  2. G. Springer (2013)
  3. M. Sano (1813)
  4. M. Teixeira (1812)
  5. J. Hamilton (1736)