Skip to content

Jean Segura plays shortstop for first time since being struck in the face with Ryan Braun’s bat

Apr 30, 2014, 7:05 PM EST

jean segura getty Getty Images

Brewers shortstop Jean Segura needed plastic surgery for a deep gash near his right eye after teammate Ryan Braun accidentally struck him in the face with a bat Saturday while taking warmup swings on the top step of the home dugout at Miller Park. But he did not require a disabled list stint and should be back in the starting lineup for Milwaukee for Thursday’s series opener against the Reds.

Segura was used as a pinch-hitter in Tuesday night’s win over the Cardinals at Busch Stadium in St. Louis and he handled shortstop for a half-inning before doubling in the top of the ninth in Wednesday’s loss.

Segura is batting .244/.277/.344 with one home run and five steals in 24 games this season for the 20-8 fist-place Brewers. The 24-year-old hit .294/.329/.423 with 12 homers and 44 steals in 146 games last season.

  1. glennsyank13 - Apr 30, 2014 at 7:13 PM

    I thought he just got stitches from a plastic surgeon, not the actual plastic surgery. Sounded more like he just needed the experience of a plastic surgeon but not the actual rebuilding of his face with “plastic”.

  2. renaado - Apr 30, 2014 at 7:17 PM

    Nice to see you doin well now Segura, try and tell Braun not to let go of his bat anymore while he takes a swing when you have the time.

  3. Jonny 5 - Apr 30, 2014 at 8:00 PM

    Braun is just pure evil. EVIIIIL!!!

    • jimmyt - May 1, 2014 at 7:33 AM

      WOOWOOOWOO – Anti-Semite! Anti-Semite! Anti-Semite!!

  4. beermakers - Apr 30, 2014 at 10:18 PM

    Look forward to seeing Mean Jean out there. The Brewers definitely came out ahead in the Grienke trade.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. J. Santana (2746)
  2. Z. Greinke (2701)
  3. A. Wainwright (2699)
  4. M. Upton (2561)
  5. M. Saunders (2551)