Skip to content

[Updated] Yu Darvish loses no-hitter with two outs in the ninth inning

May 9, 2014, 10:41 PM EDT

Yu Darvish Yu Darvish

[Update: 11:15 PM EST] Darvish again was one out away from completing a no-hitter. With two outs in the ninth inning, David Ortiz beat the shift, sending a grounder into right-center for a single. Manager Ron Washington immediately pulled Darvish from the game as the right-hander had thrown 126 pitches. Darvish’s final line: 8.2 IP, 0 ER, 1 H, 2 BB, 12 K.

You may recall that Darvish was one out away from a perfect game on April 2, 2013 against the Astros. Marwin Gonzalez singled on a ground ball up the middle to end the bid.

* * *

[Update: 10:53 PM EST] Darvish has no-hit the Red Sox through eight innings. He walked another batter in the eighth so he now has two walks on the night along with 11 strikeouts and is at 113 pitches. Three outs to go.

* * *

Rangers starter Yu Darvish is working on a no-hitter. You’ve heard it before and you’ll certainly hear it again. The right-hander has held the Red Sox without a hit through seven innings tonight, striking out ten and walking one in the process.

The no-hitter stayed in tact thanks to a controversial ruling by the scorer. With two outs in the seventh, David Ortiz hit a blooper to shallow right field and it dropped untouched after miscommunication between rookie second baseman Rougned Odor and right fielder Alex Rios. The scorer assigned the error to Rios. Darvish followed up the event with a walk to Mike Napoli before getting Grady Sizemore to fly out to right field to end the inning.

In this writer’s humble opinion, that would have been ruled a hit in 29 out of 29 other ballparks and in 100 percent of non-perfect-game-related situations. So Ortiz’s bloop should have been ruled a hit. Here’s the video.

At any rate, we’ll keep you posted here as Darvish attempts to get six more outs to seal the no-hitter.

  1. goskinsvt - May 9, 2014 at 10:44 PM

    Not judging one way or another, but at what point does the line between hit/error get crossed? Error only if it hits his glove? Or error because he had time to get under the ball?

    • flamethrower101 - May 9, 2014 at 10:50 PM

      No one touched it. It should be an error and it’ll likely be changed. I’d want it to stay an error and Rios IMO is the right guy to give it too. But that wasn’t an error.

      • nothanksimdriving123 - May 9, 2014 at 11:29 PM

        Guy on MLB channel read the rule, and under the MLB rule, the error call was quite reasonable. I could see a T-ball player missing that fly, but not a ML player.

  2. johnnysoda - May 9, 2014 at 10:53 PM

    I think an error on this one is a no-brainer. He obviously should’ve made that play- does it matter if it hit his glove or not?

    • clydeserra - May 9, 2014 at 10:56 PM

      right, it should be caught. but that was no error.

    • johnnysoda - May 9, 2014 at 11:05 PM

      I should point out here that Harold Reynolds on MLB is getting hysterical about how it should have been a hit. Funny to watch.

      • clydeserra - May 9, 2014 at 11:22 PM

        Wow, that makes me doubt myself.

      • Francisco (FC) - May 9, 2014 at 11:33 PM

        The guy grew up with the Myth of the no leather rule (Like Arencibia, he repeats this nonsense when he’s interviewed). What we have here is a lack of understanding of the Official MLB rules. It’s the scorer’s decision. There may be times when it’s ruled a hit, others when it’s ruled an error, but it depends on the scorer’s judgement as to whether the fielder could have made the catch with ordinary effort.

        If Ortiz isn’t shifted so extremely with the 2B running around like a headless chicken, Rios likely catches this. Reynolds admits as much when William’s asks him point blank if he thinks Rios could have made the catch with ordinary effort.

  3. rbj1 - May 9, 2014 at 10:54 PM

    Isn’t mis-communication by definition an error? You erred in your communication. Mis = error.

  4. jrocknstuff - May 9, 2014 at 10:55 PM

    The rule has always been that if no attempt was made on the ball you cannot give an error. You can give physical errors, but not mental errors. If a ball drops between two players, no physical attempt is made on it. That’s the wrong call and probably would have been ruled a hit, even by the same official scorer, had it occured in the 5th inning or earlier.

    • Francisco (FC) - May 9, 2014 at 11:14 PM

      The rule has always been that if no attempt was made on the ball you cannot give an error.

      MLB Rule 10.1.2

      …It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error. If a ground ball goes through a fielder’s legs or a fly ball falls untouched and, in the scorer’s judgment, the fielder could have handled the ball with ordinary effort, the official scorer shall charge such fielder with an error. For example, the official scorer shall charge an infielder with an error when a ground ball passes to either side of such infielder if, in the official scorer’s judgment, a fielder at that position making ordinary effort would have fielded such ground ball and retired a runner. The official scorer shall charge an out-fielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball.

      Not that it matters anymore.

      • gothapotamus90210 - May 10, 2014 at 12:31 AM

        It does appear the official scorer was within the bounds of the rule, however offensive it was to the URoBG [Unwritten Rules of Baseball Gods]. McCann is ready to go al Qaeda on the scorer.

  5. renaado - May 9, 2014 at 10:56 PM

    Man… Guys in the NHK channel and the Jsports are surely pumped up for him on this one, really hope Darvish goes through 9 innings with the no hit bid still intact.

  6. elguapo16 - May 9, 2014 at 11:03 PM

    I’m torn on this one. If this happened in the fifth inning I don’t think there would be any scrutiny over it because no one would care….so we never would have read about it.

    Just watching the play completely independent of the no-hitter….I think it’s an error because he’s in position and makes an attempt on the ball. The “no-leather” ruling seems dumb here. That’s like saying if he were just a little less bad and the ball touched his glove on his reach, then it would have been error. But because he’s sooooo bad he couldn’t even get his glove on it, no error.

    • Francisco (FC) - May 9, 2014 at 11:16 PM

      That’s untrue there is no leather rule. Rule 10.12 is clear you can give an error to a fielder that doesn’t touch a ball.

  7. tfbuckfutter - May 9, 2014 at 11:03 PM

  8. elguapo16 - May 9, 2014 at 11:04 PM

    @jrock- but he DID make an effort on it. He lunges for it….he just doesn’t get his glove on it.

  9. goskinsvt - May 9, 2014 at 11:05 PM

    Rule 10.12

    “If a ground ball goes through a fielder’s legs or a fly ball falls untouched and, in the scorer’s judgment, the fielder could have handled the ball with ordinary effort, the official scorer shall charge such fielder with an error…The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball. ”

    Seems pretty clear that an error can be given in this situation.

    • imnotyourbuddyguy - May 9, 2014 at 11:24 PM

      Thing is most official scorers seem to ignore rule 10.12 like umpires ignore the high strike. Not that I disagree with any of your post, it seems pretty clear to me as well

  10. term3186 - May 9, 2014 at 11:19 PM

    Yes, technically an error can be given even though the ball isn’t touched. By definition it’s a judgment call. But by baseball convention it simply isn’t done. Plays like this are ROUTINELY called hits. Darvish got a bit of home-cooking. Try to find half a dozen identical plays called hits.

    • clydeserra - May 9, 2014 at 11:27 PM

      99,999/100,000 times

  11. renaado - May 9, 2014 at 11:20 PM

    Why does it always have to be 2 outs in the 9th for Darvish…

  12. Francisco (FC) - May 9, 2014 at 11:22 PM

    I’m watching MLB Network. Harold is seriously being an asshole. They have told him the rule like five times and he’s still going on about this being this worse call in the history of the game.

    • aresachaela - May 9, 2014 at 11:50 PM

      Worst ruling in MLB history!? HAH!! And I thought the Braves and Cardinals infield fly rule was the worst!! HAROLD IS BIASED!!

      • Francisco (FC) - May 10, 2014 at 12:12 AM

        Gregg brought up the Galarraga-Jimmy Joyce play as a counter-point. Harold goes on to justify his opinion by saying that the official scorer took like 15 minutes (his words) to make a ruling. He’s saying that without the no-hitter this thing is ruled a hit in 5 seconds.

    • DJ MC - May 10, 2014 at 12:43 AM

      That’s just who he is. You get him into an argument over the color of the sky, and no matter what you say he’s going to end up screaming, “IT’S GREEN! GREEN! HOW ARE YOU NOT SEEING THIS! GREEEEEEEEN!”

      It was really entertaining, though. The most I’ve ever been entertained by Reynolds and Williams, by about a power of x1000.

  13. gothapotamus90210 - May 9, 2014 at 11:58 PM

    Maybe I’m a curmudgeon, but I’ve never understood all the fuss over throwing a perfect game / no-hitter vs. coming very close to it*. If a pitcher gives up your run-of-the-mill single, whether it’s in the first inning or with two outs in the 9th, the bottom line is he’s pitched pretty damn well.

    * Sabremetrics should validate this sentiment.

  14. 18thstreet - May 10, 2014 at 8:45 AM

    The good thing about plays like this is that it makes it much easier for those of us who value the advanced defensive metrics (over errors and fielding percentage) to point out how awful errors are as a stat.

    Not an error: http://d3j5vwomefv46c.cloudfront.net/photos/large/817150842.gif?1382576425

    Whatever the rulebook has to say, plays like the one Rios didn’t make last night are never ruled as an error. It’s part of the reason the statistic has no value. None.

    • clydeserra - May 10, 2014 at 12:29 PM

      that is a glorious gif

    • renaado - May 10, 2014 at 12:40 PM

      LOL, Wainwright looks like a freakin statue.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Red Sox shopping Lester and Lackey
Top 10 MLB Player Searches