Skip to content

Blue Jays plan to use Brett Lawrie at second base against right-handed pitchers

May 10, 2014, 6:55 PM EDT

Brett Lawrie Brett Lawrie

In an effort to keep Juan Francisco’s bat in the lineup, the Blue Jays plan to use Brett Lawrie at second base when they face a right-handed pitcher, Sportsnet’s Shi Davidi reports. Lawrie has logged only 69 defensive innings at second base in his big league career, though he did spend a majority of his minor league career there.

Francisco is off to a hot start, slashing .292/.382/.585 with five home runs and 12 RBI in 18 games since being recalled from Triple-A on April 18. The Blue Jays signed Francisco on April 1, a week after the Brewers released him.

Lawrie hasn’t been nearly as productive at the plate, slashing .229/.276/.407 despite hitting six home runs and knocking in 21 runs. Chris Getz and Ryan Goins will see a reduction in playing time as a result of Lawrie’s move to second base.

  1. jaysfan64 - May 10, 2014 at 7:13 PM

    Goins is currently in AAA. There’s no other place Francisco’s hot bat fits in the lineup right now.

  2. onbucky96 - May 10, 2014 at 7:16 PM

    Ugh. 2 former Brewers. Melvin!

  3. sfp311 - May 10, 2014 at 7:25 PM

    Come on Bill.. Goins is in Triple-A and incase you or Craig did not notice everyone pointing it out.. Lawrie was raking before his hamstring injury.

  4. proudlycanadian - May 10, 2014 at 7:32 PM

    This is not new. It has been obvious for a week, that this will happen.

  5. garybrian2014 - May 11, 2014 at 6:24 PM

    What a dumb ass move. Gibson is turning one of the best defensive 3rd basemen into a part time 2nd baseman and part time 3rd baseman. Next thing maybe Gibby will put Batista in the starting rotation!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. J. Garcia (3378)
  2. J. Reyes (3062)
  3. H. Ryu (3019)
  4. C. Dickerson (2957)
  5. D. Wright (2932)