Skip to content

VIDEO: Todd Frazier hits the longest home run of the season so far

May 10, 2014, 10:15 AM EDT

Let’s all gather around and enjoy this home run from Reds third baseman Todd Frazier last night against Rockies right-hander Jhoulys Chacin:

The blast traveled an estimated distance of 485 feet, which makes it the longest home run in the majors so far this season. It just barely ekes out this home run from the Marlins’ Giancarlo Stanton on April 4, which traveled an estimated distance of 484 feet according to ESPN’s Hit Tracker Online.

Frazier’s home run is the sixth-longest in Great American Ballpark history. Adam Dunn still holds the record with this massive 535-foot shot.

  1. contraryguy - May 10, 2014 at 11:19 AM

    He had a ‘sophomore slump’ year at the plate in 2013, but after Votto, Frazier may be the next best everyday player that the Reds have. Straight-up baller.

  2. anxovies - May 10, 2014 at 3:51 PM

    To put tape measure homeruns in perspective: in 1921, Babe Ruth hit a 500+ foot HR in every American League ball park.

  3. mybrunoblog - May 10, 2014 at 4:28 PM

    Google the picture of Frazier when he was 12 years old after his NJ team won the Little League WS and he got to stand next to Derek Jeter. Great stuff. Some dreams do come true.

  4. stlouis1baseball - May 12, 2014 at 1:02 PM

    Wait just one minute. Todd Frazier hits the ball 485 feet and does NOT…repeat…does NOT flip his bat?
    Unbelievable. I thought bat flips were mandatory? I thought they were welcomed? I thought they were warranted? Always warranted. No? Well…HBT readers (98% of you anyway) and Calcattera simply must contact Frazier, his agent, Castellini, someone and tell them Todd Frazier is doing it wrong!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2467)
  2. B. Crawford (2331)
  3. Y. Puig (2296)
  4. G. Springer (2084)
  5. D. Wright (2021)
  1. J. Hamilton (2010)
  2. J. Fernandez (1992)
  3. D. Span (1922)
  4. H. Ramirez (1902)
  5. C. Correa (1865)