Skip to content

Adam LaRoche placed on disabled list with quad strain

May 11, 2014, 9:39 AM EDT

adam laroche getty Getty Images

Nationals manager Matt Williams announced late Saturday night that first baseman Adam LaRoche has been placed on the 15-day disabled list because of a strained quadriceps muscle. This according to Adam Kilgore at the Washington Post.

LaRoche began experiencing discomfort in his quad over two weeks ago. He finally underwent an MRI on Saturday after experiencing a flare-up on Friday and the exam revealed the muscle strain. LaRoche, who has a team-best .319/.421/.504 batting line with five home runs and 21 RBI in 32 games this year, will probably be sidelined until the final week of May.

“It sucks not being able to go out there every night and battle with the guys,” LaRoche told the Post on Saturday. “The one thing I do feel pretty good about is that I gave it every opportunity to try to go out and play through it and see if this thing would go away. The last couple days have proven that it’s not going to happen.”

The Nationals enter Sunday’s series finale against the Athletics with a 19-17 record.

  1. goskinsvt - May 11, 2014 at 9:52 AM

    Man, that’s 5 of the 8 opening day starters that have been on the DL for the Nats. They’ve done well to stay over .500 so far.

  2. wilmyers09 - May 11, 2014 at 10:49 AM

    two words nats suck

    • renaado - May 11, 2014 at 10:54 AM

      Should’ve added a coma for that.

      • renaado - May 11, 2014 at 10:56 AM


      • NatsLady - May 11, 2014 at 3:41 PM

        Coma was good. Go with that for this poster.

  3. infieldhit - May 11, 2014 at 5:32 PM

    Are you sure LaRoche didn’t ask to remain anonymous?

  4. jwbiii - May 12, 2014 at 1:37 AM

    They have called up Tyler Moore, who can a nothing day and suddenly make it all seem worthwhile.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2724)
  2. B. Crawford (2530)
  3. Y. Puig (2395)
  4. G. Springer (2283)
  5. C. Correa (2124)
  1. H. Ramirez (2124)
  2. J. Fernandez (2087)
  3. D. Wright (2085)
  4. J. Hamilton (2076)
  5. H. Pence (2021)