Skip to content

Padres shut down Andrew Cashner with elbow injury

May 17, 2014, 4:05 PM EDT

andrew cashner getty Getty Images

Another day, another stud pitcher with elbow problems. This time it’s Padres ace Andrew Cashner, who’s been placed on the disabled list with elbow soreness.

Cashner was off to a great start this year, starting nine games with a 2.35 ERA and 47/17 K/BB ratio in 57 innings to build off a breakout 2013 campaign in which he joined the rotation full time with a 3.09 ERA in 175 innings.

Durability has always been an issue for Cashner and last season he topped his previous career-high workload by nearly 60 innings, but both in terms of velocity and performance there’s been little sign of trouble until now.

  1. ptfu - May 17, 2014 at 4:24 PM

    Aw hell, not another one.

  2. yahmule - May 17, 2014 at 4:28 PM


  3. migoli - May 17, 2014 at 4:43 PM

    I’ll say it again, just shut the year down and get every lined up for TJ !

  4. crpls - May 17, 2014 at 4:52 PM

    Underhand pitching now, obviously.

  5. vanmorrissey - May 17, 2014 at 5:27 PM

    I just had a mini heart attack. One of the few bright lights on this team this year, now this. Why don’t we have these guys get TJ as they start their Major League careers, that way teams can manage the new tendon carefully, not really knowing how many throws were in the arm prior to coming into their system. Its only May, I wonder if Vegas has odds on how many TJ’s before the end of the season.

  6. miguelcairo - May 17, 2014 at 5:59 PM

    What the hell is going on? This is a catastrophe.

  7. ch0psuey - May 17, 2014 at 6:38 PM

    Son of a B****, this sucks.

  8. blabidibla - May 17, 2014 at 6:42 PM

    Cashner has always been a prime candidate for TJ.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2744)
  2. Y. Puig (2414)
  3. G. Stanton (2360)
  4. C. Correa (2354)
  5. G. Springer (2263)
  1. H. Pence (2171)
  2. J. Hamilton (2079)
  3. M. Teixeira (1873)
  4. H. Ramirez (1865)
  5. J. Fernandez (1849)