Skip to content

A.J. Ellis hurt his ankle celebrating Josh Beckett’s no-hitter

May 26, 2014, 5:30 PM EDT

A.J. Ellis Getty Getty Images

Dodgers catcher A.J. Ellis returned from a knee injury 10 days ago, but now he’s headed back to the disabled list after injuring his ankle while celebrating Josh Beckett‘s no-hitter last night.

Ellis wasn’t even behind the plate for Beckett’s gem. That job went to Drew Butera, who caught his second no-hitter, but Mark Saxon of ESPN Los Angeles reports that Ellis sprained his right ankle when he landed on Butera’s discarded catcher’s mask during the celebration.

Tim Federowicz has been called up from Triple-A to replace Ellis on the roster and he’ll split time with Butera. Ellis hasn’t hit much since last season, batting .231 with a .669 OPS in 130 games, but that makes him look like Mike Piazza offensively compared to Butera’s career .185 batting average and .508 OPS.

Oh, and there’s this: Miguel Olivo was playing catcher for the Dodgers at Triple-A and hitting .368 there, so if he hadn’t gone and bitten off teammate Alex Guerrero’s ear there’s a strong chance he’d be the Dodgers’ starting catcher right now.

  1. mybrunoblog - May 26, 2014 at 5:42 PM

    Let’s make a list of guys injured in baseball celebrations. The overblown celebration phenomenon seems to have started over the last 10 years or so. Celebrating a big achievement is expected. That said do we really need guys diving all over each other and making dog piles when a player hits a game winner or some other achievement? And yes, get the hell off my lawn.

    • commonsenseisnotcmonman - May 26, 2014 at 5:48 PM

      this seems more like a freak accident, than a jumping on home plate type injury.

      Id file this under cutting your finger while making a sandwich in the clubhouse.

  2. thetoolsofignorance - May 26, 2014 at 6:01 PM

    Seriously? Olivio tries to eat the blue chip prospect and cant’ take Ellis’s place who got injured while celebrating Becket”s no-no, is that right? You can’t make this crap up…..

  3. slickdemetrius - May 26, 2014 at 6:15 PM

    Thinking about it, I believe my favorite celebration was when Roger Dorn “congratulated” Ricky Vaughn after the conclusion of the ALCS game.

  4. nottinghamforest13 - May 26, 2014 at 6:34 PM

    He was only released because of his salary and potential talent. If Kemp, Puig or Kershaw bite an ear, do they get released too? Think about it.

    • koufaxmitzvah - May 26, 2014 at 7:03 PM

      So let me get this straight. If you had access to a Beemer and three guns, you, too, would go around shooting college students?

    • 22yearsagotoday - May 26, 2014 at 7:28 PM

      Those guys don’t like ears. They like thighs and wings.

  5. chill1184 - May 26, 2014 at 6:35 PM

    Didnt an Angels player break his ankle (or related injury) after celebrating a walk off homer a few years ago?

    • crpls - May 26, 2014 at 6:44 PM

      Yeah, Kendrys Morales broke his ankle.

  6. thomas844 - May 26, 2014 at 7:09 PM

    Baseball players seem so fragile this year. I wouldn’t be surprised if someone fractures their finger while clipping their nails.

    • 22yearsagotoday - May 26, 2014 at 7:30 PM

      I erroneously thumbed you down when I meant to thumb you up.

      • thomas844 - May 26, 2014 at 9:11 PM

        Lol no worries.

  7. 22yearsagotoday - May 26, 2014 at 7:26 PM

    He’s not the first athlete to get hurt celebrating. These guys need to be more Monk like, as in Buddist no emotion Monk. Well, at least until they win something like a wild card or division title.

    • 22yearsagotoday - May 26, 2014 at 7:27 PM


    • Professor Fate - May 27, 2014 at 12:26 AM

      Yes, that’s what the pool in the outfield is for.

  8. zdravit - May 27, 2014 at 1:30 PM

    Ban celebrations. Suspend Ellis.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2515)
  2. C. Correa (2514)
  3. Y. Puig (2509)
  4. B. Crawford (2400)
  5. H. Pence (2271)
  1. G. Springer (2219)
  2. H. Ramirez (2152)
  3. M. Teixeira (2141)
  4. J. Hamilton (2125)
  5. J. Baez (2095)