Skip to content

Jose Bautista takes the lead in AL All-Star voting

Jun 8, 2014, 8:52 PM EDT

Jose Bautista AP AP

The latest update in the American League All-Star balloting has been released and there are a few things of things of note. Blue Jays slugger Jose Bautista is now the leading vote-getter, passing Mike Trout. Oakland’s Josh Donaldson is running away with things at third base while Seattle’s Robinson Cano has increased his lead at second base and Baltimore’s Nelson Cruz has begun to distance himself from David Ortiz at the DH spot.

The assumption has been that Derek Jeter will win the vote at shortstop for the American League in his final season. And let’s be real here, he probably still will. But it’s a lot closer than you would expect. Chicago’s Alexei Ramirez, who is having an excellent season, is right on his heels in the balloting.

Here’s the full update:

source:  source:

  1. mikeflorioisaredskin - Jun 8, 2014 at 9:11 PM

    I know he’s new to the game but vote for springer. No one has a hotter bat right now

    • jrbdmb - Jun 9, 2014 at 4:32 PM

      Yup, all you need to make the All-Star team is one hot week.

    • erbaodai - Jun 9, 2014 at 5:19 PM

      I heard Puig was pretty hot last year. Did he get in?

  2. phillysports1 - Jun 8, 2014 at 9:21 PM

    Bautista showing how it’s done!!

  3. proudlycanadian - Jun 8, 2014 at 10:30 PM

    Bautista is having a great year both on the field and at the plate. The votes for Jeter are not based on his performance this season. I found it amusing that in its Facebook feed, MLB, MLB identified 2 players as Miggy and Melky but used the surname of everyone else.

  4. drewzducks - Jun 8, 2014 at 11:29 PM

    He’s actually behind Trout, once you factor in the exchange rate. In all seriousness, Bautista being the top vote getter would be the best thing to happen in Toronto since:

  5. miguelcairo - Jun 9, 2014 at 12:22 AM

    Still not sure I understand the Wieters lead.

  6. whmiv21 - Jun 9, 2014 at 2:18 AM

    How in the world is David Lough 15th in the voting?

    • whmiv21 - Jun 9, 2014 at 2:20 AM

      This is his slash line…

      .188/.268/.297… Thats a .565 OPS, 57 OPS +

  7. csbanter - Jun 9, 2014 at 3:33 AM

    I guess Melky didn’t serve a PED suspension, it was all a dream. As long as fans and MLB keeps supporting and awarding this behavior its all good. Melky legit…sure he is……

    • proudlycanadian - Jun 9, 2014 at 10:22 AM

      Nelson Cruz has more votes than Melky. If you are going to pick on Melky, why don’t you pick on Nelson Cruz.

    • Travis Reitsma - Jun 9, 2014 at 10:27 AM

      I guess Miguel Cabrera didn’t drink and drive, it waqs all a dream. As long as fans and MLB keeps supporting and awarding this behaviour, it’s all good. Miggy legit…sure he is……

      Sound ridiculous, doesn’t it.

    • drewsylvania - Jun 9, 2014 at 11:58 AM

      What’s more concerning: that Melky used, or that MLB deliberately violated one of its most venerable rules in order to deny Melky the batting title?

  8. campcouch - Jun 9, 2014 at 4:10 AM

    popularity rules the day.

  9. drewsylvania - Jun 9, 2014 at 10:39 AM

    Jeter should be nowhere near an ASG roster spot, let alone a starter.

    The genuflection festival is getting very tiresome.

  10. garybrian2014 - Jun 9, 2014 at 12:10 PM

    Derek Jeter may have been a great player, but his time is over. Remember the winner in the All-Star game gets home field advantage for the World Series. Bring him in as a late inning replacement but not as a starter!

  11. jaysjaysallday - Jun 10, 2014 at 12:11 AM

    Joey Bats very deserving to be in lead

  12. phillysports1 - Jun 10, 2014 at 10:21 AM

    Guys please vote for Alexi Ramirez to start at SS .. Do not vote for Jeter

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2998)
  2. J. Fernandez (2431)
  3. Y. Cespedes (2367)
  4. G. Stanton (2269)
  5. D. Span (2088)
  1. Y. Puig (2006)
  2. F. Rodney (1966)
  3. M. Teixeira (1957)
  4. G. Springer (1917)
  5. H. Olivera (1896)