Skip to content

Marlins sign No. 2 overall pick Tyler Kolek to $6 million bonus

Jun 14, 2014, 1:29 PM EDT

marlins logo wide

CBS Sports’ Jon Heyman reports that the Marlins have signed No. 2 overall pick Tyler Kolek to a $6 million bonus. The terms were first reported by Jim Callis of

Kolek actually signed for $821,000 under the slot value for the pick, so the Marlins have extra draft pool money to use elsewhere, but Callis notes that it’s still third-highest bonus ever for a high school pitcher. Brady Aiken, who was selected No. 1 overall by the Astros this year, and Pirates prospect Pirates prospect Jameson Taillon each received $6.5 million.

Checking in at a sturdy 6-foot-5 and 250 pounds, Kolek is an 18-year-old right-hander out of Texas who is best known for his 100 mph fastball. Not surprisingly, he still has some work to do with his command and secondary pitches, but the upside is immense.

  1. markjames23 - Jun 14, 2014 at 1:38 PM

    18 year old throwing 100mph… Doesn’t sound good to me.

    • lukedunphysscienceproject - Jun 14, 2014 at 1:45 PM

      Dr. James Andrews is already sending his family Christmas cards.

  2. Old Gator - Jun 14, 2014 at 2:11 PM

    Nolan Ryan went to see this kid pitch and was blown away. At least the Feesh brainstem trust knows how to pay attention to folks who know what they’re talking about.

    • roundballsquarebox24 - Jun 14, 2014 at 2:37 PM

      Man, I really thought the Astros were gonna pick this kid up. I know draft picks are always a gamble, but this guy looks like he has everything it takes and then some.

      • asimonetti88 - Jun 14, 2014 at 9:30 PM

        100 MPH at 18 years old… unbelievable!

  3. mjfearby - Jun 15, 2014 at 11:22 AM

    This kid sounds too good to be true for the Marlins.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (3156)
  2. G. Stanton (2562)
  3. M. Teixeira (2481)
  4. H. Olivera (2404)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2386)
  1. J. Fernandez (2357)
  2. K. Medlen (2181)
  3. Y. Puig (2129)
  4. G. Perkins (2085)
  5. J. Eickhoff (2059)