Skip to content

The Cardinals pull off one of the weirdest plays you’ll see this year

Jun 21, 2014, 11:08 AM EDT

howard hurdle

Last night’s Phillies-Cardinals game featured one of the weirdest plays you’ll see this year.

It all started with an innocent tapper to the right side of the infield from Ryan Howard in the top of the ninth inning. After the ball deflected of the leg of first baseman Matt Adams, Cardinals closer Trevor Rosenthal attempted to make a bare-handed play to throw Howard out at first base. It worked. Sort of. The video isn’t embeddable on MLB.com for some reason, but you can (and should) check it out here.

Yep, just like they planned it. You could certainly make the case that Rosenthal obstructed Howard there, but fortunately for the Phillies, it didn’t have an impact on the game and everyone can have a laugh about it. Everything about this play is perfect.

  1. bleedgreen - Jun 21, 2014 at 11:11 AM

    Shouldn’t he have been safe because of an obstructed basepath?

    • paperlions - Jun 21, 2014 at 11:23 AM

      Yep, he should have been.

    • blacksables - Jun 21, 2014 at 12:50 PM

      OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and
      not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner.

      When was he not in the act of fielding the ball?

      • hittfamily - Jun 21, 2014 at 4:15 PM

        When it kicked off his buddy, he was no longer fielding it. He was retrieving it. Fielding the ball is gloving it off the bat. Retrieving a ball is after it has already been touched. In a run down, you can’t run into the runner while trying to position yourself to make a catch. Same goes for here.

      • blacksables - Jun 22, 2014 at 3:51 PM

        You need to go back and read the rules again.

  2. ud1951 - Jun 21, 2014 at 11:20 AM

    Cards fan here. In a close or tied game, surely that play would have been reviewed. Rosenthal obstructed Howard and Howard should have been safe on at least a fielding error by Adams, if not also a fielding error by Rosenthal and interference.

    • blacksables - Jun 21, 2014 at 12:52 PM

      OBSTRUCTION is the act of a fielder who, while not in possession of the ball and
      not in the act of fielding the ball, impedes the progress of any runner.

      You can’t have obstruction and interference at the same time. It’s two different things.

    • mpzz - Jun 23, 2014 at 12:19 AM

      The fielder always has the right to field the ball, even if it’s in the basepath. Interference or obstruction can’t be called when the fielder is making an attempt to field and throw the ball.

  3. sabathiawouldbegoodattheeighthtoo - Jun 21, 2014 at 12:28 PM

    If that was Ortiz instead of Howard there wouldn’t be an undamaged phone left on the east coast. That is a clean single as far as Papi is concerned.

    • sportsfan18 - Jun 21, 2014 at 3:15 PM

      yep, a CLEAN single…

      and he’d argue for 2nd base due to interference of the great Papi…

      they’d probably give him 3rd base just to shut him up… and the other team would think that was the lesser of two evils…

  4. clydeserra - Jun 21, 2014 at 12:33 PM

    were did all the best fans in baseball go? there was still an inning left?

    • okwhitefalcon - Jun 21, 2014 at 12:44 PM

      Game was delayed an hour at the beginning so I’m sure down 4 with no signs of life a good portion ignored the advanced directive to stay til the bitter end and went ahead and pulled the plug.

      • clydeserra - Jun 21, 2014 at 12:49 PM

        that makes sense then

      • fearlessleader - Jun 21, 2014 at 1:46 PM

        Hey falcon, I made this to help me get through the next few games….even the BFIB have limits: http://ablogoftheirown.wordpress.com/2014/06/21/lets-play-frustrated-cardinal-fan-bingo/

      • okwhitefalcon - Jun 21, 2014 at 3:48 PM

        That’s f’n awesome fearless, well done.

        I’d like to add a couple:

        “Wong’ing: another 4 for 45 and counting”

        “HPGF outcry: Free Ryan Jackson..oh..wait.”

        Feel free to add on, comic relief may be all we have left at this point.

      • fearlessleader - Jun 21, 2014 at 5:40 PM

        Thanks! Good lord, it’s only the 5th inning and I’ve got half my card covered already. This team is killing me.

  5. nsstlfan - Jun 21, 2014 at 12:55 PM

    He was fielding the ball and in his possession the whole time so I see no obstruction call.

    • Senor Cardgage - Jun 21, 2014 at 2:26 PM

      Except for the part where the ball was never in his possession and he was still in Howard’s way well after the ball was already on its way back to the first baseman.

  6. missingdiz - Jun 21, 2014 at 4:28 PM

    I’m glad nobody got hurt. Howard’s been hurt running to first before.

    Of course, the other thing is that none of this would have happened if Adams had used his glove instead of his knee to catch the ball.

  7. tbird05 - Jun 22, 2014 at 11:33 AM

    Now Trevor Rosenthal’s coaches are going to have a hard time telling him that it isn’t productive to slide into first base.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Patience finally paying off for Royals fans
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. R. Castillo (2961)
  2. D. Ortiz (2214)
  3. J. Hamilton (2177)
  4. N. Arenado (2150)
  5. C. Kershaw (2105)
  1. G. Stanton (2086)
  2. A. Rizzo (1979)
  3. A. Pujols (1977)
  4. M. Trout (1965)
  5. A. Pagan (1934)