Skip to content

Vanderbilt tops Virginia in College World Series final

Jun 26, 2014, 12:11 AM EDT

vanderbilt logo

Vanderbilt University has claimed its first College World Series. And the school’s first-ever NCAA national championship in a men’s team sport.

Carson Fulmer held the opposing Virginia Cavaliers to two runs — one earned — over 5 1/3 innings and center fielder John Norwood slugged a go-ahead solo homer off UVA reliever Nick Howard as Vandy won Tuesday’s Game 3 in Omaha by a score of 3-2.

Howard was the Reds’ first-round pick in the 2014 MLB Amateur Draft — at 29th overall — and had been dominant this season as Virginia’s primary closer. But Norwood turned on a 97 mph fastball on the inside corner in the bottom of the eighth inning to put the Commodores ahead for good.

“He’s got a powerful fastball … I just threw my hands at it and tried to find the sweet spot,” Norwood told ESPN sideline reporter Jessica Mendoza after the game. “It’s unbelievable … I can’t believe it.”

Vanderbilt lost Game 2 to Virginia on Tuesday after winning Game 1, but they bounced back in impressive fashion and were the team forming a dogpile on the TD Ameritrade Park field Wednesday night.

  1. nothanksimdriving123 - Jun 26, 2014 at 12:15 AM

    Terrific game. Tip of the cap to Vanderbilt!

  2. renaado - Jun 26, 2014 at 12:29 AM

    Is there a video of it? I cant find any in youtube.

    • aresachaela - Jun 26, 2014 at 7:03 AM

      Just searched the entire related videos of this, no need the thank me.

  3. drpaisley - Jun 26, 2014 at 12:45 AM

    Lionel Richie must be dancing on the ceiling.

  4. jwbiii - Jun 26, 2014 at 2:03 AM

    Buster Olney may be insufferable for the next day or two. Of course, you are welcome to the opinion that he has been insufferable for the for the last quarter century.

  5. Minoring In Baseball - Jun 26, 2014 at 2:20 AM

    Congrats to Vandy! This was a very memorable CWS for baseball fans.

  6. dwrek5 - Jun 26, 2014 at 8:49 AM

    I love the CWS, but these games really drug on. 3:44 for a 3-2 game? Lets go boys, its a school night!

  7. paperlions - Jun 26, 2014 at 8:59 AM

    My Alma Mater made it’s first appearance in a CWS this year…..alas, they won no games. Cool to see 2 well run programs (i.e. programs you won’t see regularly abusing pitching arms) playing for the title that had never won before. Congrats to Vandy.

    • raysfan1 - Jun 26, 2014 at 4:18 PM

      *sees comment, makes mental note to rephrase all Aggie jokes as Red Raider jokes in the future*

      • paperlions - Jun 26, 2014 at 4:21 PM

        You could just change them to “Sand Aggie” jokes, thereby insulting 2 fan bases at once (more than that if you consider the origin of the term). Apparently, that is a common name used by UT fans to refer to Texas Tech….and I can’t help but admire the genius of the term.

      • raysfan1 - Jun 26, 2014 at 4:33 PM

        I like it! I have some Texas Tech alumni friends I’ll have to try that out on.

  8. missingjimmyjohnsonsince1994 - Jun 26, 2014 at 9:13 AM

    Great series, great season but they need replay in college baseball next year. Blown calls both ways during this series on the base paths and they need to review the transfer rule as well.

    Strike zone was very inconsistent both ways as well. Balls in the exact same location were going both ways during the same at-bats

  9. raysfan1 - Jun 26, 2014 at 9:21 AM

    Congrats to the ‘Dores!

  10. slartibartfast4242 - Jun 26, 2014 at 11:27 AM

    Revenge of the nerds?

  11. APBA Guy - Jun 26, 2014 at 11:42 AM

    Rodents. This would have been the first baseball championship for UVa also. Congrats to the Commode Doors.

  12. mazblast - Jun 26, 2014 at 5:04 PM

    “Vanderbilt won the title? Then I guess baseball isn’t nearly as important as we’ve been saying, or else someone else in the conference would have won it.”–The rest of the SEC

    Congratulations to the Commodores!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. J. Baez (2278)
  2. B. Crawford (2250)
  3. H. Pence (2194)
  4. B. Harper (2127)
  5. A. Rodriguez (2024)