Skip to content

Video: Yoenis Cespedes threw out another runner at home plate in spectacular fashion

Jun 27, 2014, 8:28 PM EDT

Yoenis Cespedes picked up his major league-leading 10th outfield assist when he threw out Giancarlo Stanton at the plate from left field to end the bottom of the third inning against the Marlins.

With runners on first and second base with two outs, Garrett Jones hit a soft line drive to left field. Cespedes charged in and got the ball on two hops, then fired a strike to catcher Derek Norris on the fly, who then tagged Stanton for the final out of the inning.

Note to opponents of the Athletics: don’t run on Cespedes.

  1. moogro - Jun 27, 2014 at 8:52 PM

    Norris’s had his leg block the lane for some reason. That was the difference.

    • clydeserra - Jun 27, 2014 at 9:03 PM

      right, that’s why the marlins waited over a minute to decide not to challenge. (those don’t even cost a challenge, home plate collision rule are umpire challenges).

      So in other words. no.

      • moogro - Jun 28, 2014 at 3:20 AM

        I think you are conflating two issues. One is if he blocked the plate without the ball. The other is whether he got away with it. By discussing whether the Marlins challenged or not, or that “professionals” are satisfied with the play (do you know how dorky that sounds?), you set aside the issue of blocking the plate with his leg without the ball. No one disputes that. You can see it in every angle in videos. And it was a smart play that all catchers are wise to exploit until they start calling it: it forced an indirect route to the bag by Stanton (who is probably coached not to get injured sliding into a the catcher) that was the difference between safe and out.

        So in other words, whatever.

  2. sabathiawouldbegoodattheeighthtoo - Jun 27, 2014 at 8:53 PM

    Did it hold up?

  3. d4assignment - Jun 27, 2014 at 9:15 PM

    Let’s not go crazy on that one. The throw wasn’t from that far out.

  4. Stiller43 - Jun 27, 2014 at 9:23 PM

    Throw wasnt that far out AND stanton is a turtle of a runner

    • dan1111 - Jun 28, 2014 at 2:37 AM

      It was a pinpoint throw, and anything less than a perfect throw would not have gotten him.

      The speed of Stanton really isn’t the point; it’s the amount of time to make the play.

  5. miguelcairo - Jun 27, 2014 at 10:10 PM

    Great throw. But he looked safe.

    • dan1111 - Jun 28, 2014 at 2:34 AM

      If you watch to the end (which you should do if you are going to claim the call was wrong), the last camera angle clearly shows that the tag was made before he touched the plate.

      • witchrunner - Jun 28, 2014 at 2:45 AM

        Agree. It wasn’t until the last view from left field that you could tell that his hand hadn’t touched the plate yet. But, I thought they changed the rule so that the catcher couldn’t block home plate. The catcher clearly moved his led, even after he was set, to make the block. If that’s the way umps are going to rule, then better to make a direct run towards home plate and step on the blocking leg. Then, after the leg is broken they can check the film to show it was the catcher’s fault.

        Obviously, if the rule is that the runner is to have a direct run at the plate and the catcher can’t block it, then the ump blew the call and should have called him safe. And the call should have been contested on that basis, not whether he was tagged before touching the plate.

      • dan1111 - Jun 28, 2014 at 2:54 AM

        @witchrunner, I don’t see any block. It looks to me like he moved his leg naturally in the act of turning to tag him. At which point, he had the ball.

      • miguelcairo - Jun 28, 2014 at 3:21 AM

        When this was first posted the embedded video was only a 20 second snippet. There was no replay so I had to go off what I say with the naked eye.

      • dan1111 - Jun 28, 2014 at 3:29 AM

        @miguelcairo, in that case, apologies for the tone of my comment.

  6. Walk - Jun 27, 2014 at 11:56 PM

    Grey area in the rules. Stanton did have a lane to the plate, but he had to slide past the plate then reach back because the catcher was blocking the plate with his leg before he had the ball.

    • clydeserra - Jun 28, 2014 at 12:23 AM

      not really a grey area. you can’t block the plate without the ball. there was no review. the professionals seemed satisfied with the play.

      • paperlions - Jun 28, 2014 at 12:43 AM

        Except, of course, he did block the plate without the ball. He never gave Stanton a lane. He didn’t move his foot in front of the plate after he caught the ball, he never moved it at all. He blocked the plate and dared the umps to call him on it or Stanton to slide through his leg. Stanton should have just slid through him.

      • Walk - Jun 28, 2014 at 10:12 PM

        Its grey because while he did have a lane he had to slide pas the plate to get to it.

  7. trollingforjustice - Jun 28, 2014 at 4:12 AM

    you guys way over analyze a great play…enjoy it and leave it at that. that play is what makes baseball worth watching

  8. nbjays - Jun 28, 2014 at 8:48 AM

    I’m sure he’ll eventually be like Ichiro, Bautista and others with the reputation of having a cannon arm… runners and 3rd base coaches won’t bother to try.

  9. sailbum7 - Jun 28, 2014 at 10:05 AM

    It was a hell of a throw, but the catcher was definitely blocking the plate. You can clearly see the catcher move his left foot before he got the ball so that his leg was blocking the plate. The runner should have been called safe based on the new rule about gving the runner a direct path to the plate. As for the tag, the final angle shown at the end of the video clearly shows that the runner was tagged before his hand touched the plate, so in that regard the umpire got it right. I have a feeling that catchers are going to continue to get away with this type of minor blocking until something very bad happens as a result. The only thing that I see stopping this is a runner sliding feet first straight down the baseline and straight at the catcher’s leg. This could quite possibly result in the catcher ending up with a broken leg or torn ligaments in the ankle or knee. Then the umpires will see how dangerous this little move is and start calling the catchers on it. There is no doubt from the video that this was a deliberate attempt to block the plate by the catcher since there was no other reason for him to move his left foot before the ball arrived the way he did.

  10. titansbro - Jun 28, 2014 at 11:51 AM

    Definitely tagged him before touching plate. Definitely was able to do that because his lower leg was blocking the plate. Stanton should’ve taken him out anyway, & maybe he gets the call on replay. Either way, still a great throw. It’s further than it looks & he had to square up to throw in a nanosecond to even have a shot at getting him.

  11. ironcurtin64 - Jun 28, 2014 at 4:39 PM

    Didn’t look like Cespedes; he normally misplays it before he sets off his rocket launcher.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

A managerial overanalysis epidemic
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. M. Bumgarner (2691)
  2. T. Lincecum (2668)
  3. J. Shields (2404)
  4. M. Morse (2222)
  5. Y. Cespedes (2003)
  1. T. Ishikawa (1662)
  2. B. Roberts (1461)
  3. U. Jimenez (1435)
  4. L. Cain (1414)
  5. H. Pence (1394)