Skip to content

The Indians turn a triple play against the Dodgers with the help of two instant replay reviews

Jul 2, 2014, 6:57 AM EDT

Triple Play Umps AP

The Indians turned a triple play last night. It was not one of those cool bam-bam-bam around-the-horn numbers. It was, like a lot of triple plays, partially a function of a base running mistake. This one, you will not be shocked to know, a mistake by Yasiel Puig, who — after the first two outs were recorded on a fly out + runner from third tagging up and being pegged at home — decided to break from first to second and and was nailed there.

But it was notable for more than some classic Puiging. It was notable because the call of a triple play was upheld only after a video review. Two of them. The first one on that play at second, where the umpire initially called Puig safe and Terry Francona challenged it. It was close, but I think the call was right. The second challenge was the play at home, where the base runner was called out, Don Mattingly challenged, but the call was upheld.

Watch:

It took some time and was not as fun as some of those bam-bam-bam around-the-horn triple plays, but it was still pretty cool.

  1. tribefever - Jul 2, 2014 at 8:00 AM

    Chief Wahoo is the greatest mascot in all of sports.

    • 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Jul 2, 2014 at 10:24 AM

      Weak.

  2. budship - Jul 2, 2014 at 8:45 AM

    Triple play my a** – they missed both calls.

    • 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Jul 2, 2014 at 10:24 AM

      Weaker.

  3. mikhelb - Jul 2, 2014 at 10:02 AM

    I wouldn’t call it a mistake by Puig, he just tried to advance to scoring position, he probably didn’t know if the play at home was safe or out when he was already running towards second.

    In any case if it was a mistake, then the blame is also on his coach, he is who has to tell the runner to either try to advance or not, he is who is watching the play develop and should have a better grasp of how the defense is situated and if he thinks the runner can take the next base safely… plus it was a bang-bang play at second it is not as if Puig was out by a mile and inches.

    • largebill - Jul 2, 2014 at 12:06 PM

      No, on a play like that it is not on the coach. For most bang bang plays (like trying to score on ball that gets a way from catcher) the runner has to decide in a split second for himself. As a coach, I tell our players if you hesitate for the base coach to tell you to go it is already too late.

    • acdc84 - Jul 2, 2014 at 2:39 PM

      As a Dodger fan I can confidently say the coaches’ instructions and and directions have very little influence on what Puig does on the basepaths. Or on the field in general.

  4. 1943mrmojorisin1971 - Jul 2, 2014 at 10:23 AM

    “Let’s throw a challenge into this wrench.”

    Sounds like that announcer is mixing his similes.

  5. Bar None - Jul 2, 2014 at 10:52 AM

    7-2-6 triple play. Run of the mill stuff.

    • largebill - Jul 2, 2014 at 12:07 PM

      7-2-4, Kipnis made last tag not Cabrera.

  6. hushbrother - Jul 2, 2014 at 10:53 AM

    I propose we call a bam-bam-bam around the horn triple play a “Gaetti.” Gary once turned two of them in a single game against the Red Sox.

  7. twinfan24 - Jul 2, 2014 at 1:22 PM

    Both plays were incredibly close. I didn’t think the one at home would be close, but the catcher lifted his glove and the leg almost got under the tag. I had to watch the one at 2nd a couple of times.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Who's outside looking in on playoffs?
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. R. Castillo (2560)
  2. J. Hamilton (2005)
  3. J. Heyward (1942)
  4. M. Trout (1930)
  5. D. Ortiz (1879)
  1. J. Ellsbury (1826)
  2. S. Pearce (1811)
  3. C. Kershaw (1792)
  4. D. Jeter (1789)
  5. A. Pagan (1739)