Skip to content

Brandon Phillips needs surgery for a torn thumb ligament

Jul 10, 2014, 3:45 PM EDT

Brandon Phillips AP

UPDATE: Rosenthal now says Phillips has a torn thumb ligament that will require surgery, which means he’s likely looking at the same 8-12 week recovery timetable as Cardinals catcher Yadier Molina.


Cincinnati’s injury woes keep getting worse, as Ken Rosenthal of reports that Reds second baseman Brandon Phillips will be “out a while” with a ligament issue and possible tear in his left thumb.

Phillips suffered the injury yesterday while trying to field an Anthony Rizzo ground ball at second base and walked off the field with a Reds trainer holding his hand to stabilize it.

Phillips has played an average of 150 games per season since 2006 and has missed just five games this year, but at age 33 his OPS has fallen to .701 for his lowest mark since joining the Reds and he’s swiped just one base all year.

Cincinnati is already without former MVP Joey Votto, who re-injured his quadriceps muscle to put him back on the disabled list.

  1. jerze2387 - Jul 10, 2014 at 3:56 PM

    They need to hope hamilton can come back soon and remembers how to play the infield, because they have no middle infield depth to speak of and Ramon Santiago is in no way a starter for any extended time period

    • bringbackkosar - Jul 10, 2014 at 4:20 PM

      Schumaker is a serviceable option at 2B, no way is Hamilton leaving CF. They do need to make some trades and fill the holes

  2. justinreds - Jul 10, 2014 at 4:24 PM

    Just announced out 8-12 weeks with a torn ligament. Just like Molina.

    • yahmule - Jul 10, 2014 at 7:24 PM

      Interesting that these two rivals should be fallen the same way. Maybe they can meet up and rehab with thumb wars.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. G. Stanton (2660)
  2. B. Crawford (2466)
  3. Y. Puig (2371)
  4. G. Springer (2229)
  5. J. Fernandez (2067)
  1. D. Wright (2067)
  2. J. Hamilton (2055)
  3. C. Correa (2048)
  4. H. Ramirez (2025)
  5. H. Pence (1959)