Skip to content

VIDEO: Yasiel Puig ejected for second time in his career

Jul 13, 2014, 9:32 AM EST

Dodgers outfielder Yasiel Puig was tossed out of Saturday night’s game against the Padres in the bottom of the third inning for arguing an iffy strike call on a low and inside pitch …

According to Pedro Moura of the Orange County Register — and you can kind of see this in the video above — Puig called the umpire “stupid” just before he got heaved. It was Puig’s second career ejection. The other one was for that brawl with the D’Backs in June 2013. The Dodgers went on to beat San Diego by a final score of 1-0 on Saturday and now have sole possession of first place in the National League West.

  1. Stiller43 - Jul 13, 2014 at 9:55 AM

    Bad call…but ya cant do that

  2. beavertonsteve - Jul 13, 2014 at 11:02 AM

    Ump even gave him plenty of time to make his point and walk away without being tossed.

  3. aphillieated - Jul 13, 2014 at 11:25 AM

    That was strike.

    • paperlions - Jul 13, 2014 at 11:50 AM

      No, it wasn’t. It was 4-5″ inside, off-center camera angles make the pitch look better than it was….of course, the ump wasn’t making the call from the CF camera, he was 2′ away.

      http://www.brooksbaseball.net/pfxVB/location.php?pitchSel=453178&game=gid_2014_07_12_sdnmlb_lanmlb_1/&batterX=20&innings=yyyyyyyyy&sp_type=1&s_type=3&league=mlb

      • aphillieated - Jul 13, 2014 at 12:59 PM

        with 2 strikes thats a strike, you idiot. he should be protecting

      • paperlions - Jul 13, 2014 at 1:54 PM

        No, it isn’t. The zone doesn’t change with the count. Thinking it does is pretty stupid….and that pitch was not even close to a strike.

        Saying that a player should expand the zone by 5″ because the count is 0-2 is freaking stupid. It is hard enough to protect the actual zone.

      • beavertonsteve - Jul 13, 2014 at 1:03 PM

        This whole time I’ve been watching and playing baseball I had no idea the strike zone changed based on the the count! I guess anyone who could screw that rule up is an idiot.

      • stupidusername - Jul 13, 2014 at 3:33 PM

        Why should he be protecting on a pitch that’s 5 inches off the plate? Just because your little league coach told you that? Actually, “protecting” on that pitch would have been a poor choice as it was flat out not a strike. Strikes have to cross the plate, it’s not some arbitrary decision made by the umpire. Knowing umpires, I don’t have much doubt he made that call based on Puig’s reactions to the first 2 pitches (the second pitch was also not a strike).

      • stlouis1baseball - Jul 14, 2014 at 11:59 AM

        So help me understand. Are you saying (2) of the (3) pitches are strikes?
        Cause’ that was my take initially. And it appears that is what your link is purporting as well.
        Regardless, Puig’s issue in this case is a matter of him pouting with the first two pitches.
        Pouting to the point of him not really even being in the AB the 3rd pitch. And whether anyone likes it or not…you always protect with two strikes. This isn’t a little league rule. It’s a hitting 101 rule. If nothing else, you get a piece of the ball to stay in the AB.

      • paperlions - Jul 14, 2014 at 12:09 PM

        All I was pointing out was that the last pitch was a ball, and clearly so. In contrast to the comment, which said it was a strike.

        I didn’t say anything about Puig’s behavior. He was being an ass and was rightly ejected. The ump let him have his say, at that point he needed to walk away.

        Did you really not understand why I made the comment?

        In what world is swinging at a pitch 5″ off the plate “protecting the strike zone”?

    • alara07 - Jul 13, 2014 at 1:07 PM

      I watched that game, the first two strikes appeared to be about six inches off the outside part of the plate,thus making Puig frustrated. On the first strike Puig gave the umpire his disapproval look, by the time the third strike was borderline inside,the pitch was called a strike. The lesson is that you cannot show up any umpire,especially if the umpire is a rookie umpire making his debut(perVin Scilly).

      • alara07 - Jul 13, 2014 at 1:11 PM

        Correction-Vin Scully.

  4. ufostomper - Jul 13, 2014 at 12:20 PM

    It was really close, WAY too close to take with 2 strikes

    • stupidusername - Jul 13, 2014 at 3:43 PM

      Batter’s shouldn’t need to adjust to an umpire calling strikes on pitches, which you are admittedly saying, are not strikes.

  5. jimsjam33 - Jul 13, 2014 at 12:29 PM

    I’m a Dodger fan , but Puig got what he deserved . It doesn’t matter f the pitch was a strike or a ball . You can’t call the ump ” Stupid . ” Stupid is what stupid does . Puig you own this one !

  6. ripdipbob - Jul 13, 2014 at 4:20 PM

    Can’t wait till they take the strike/balls calls away from the home plate umpires.

    • bigbenh8tr - Jul 13, 2014 at 10:58 PM

      Not gonna happen chief

  7. campcouch - Jul 14, 2014 at 2:18 AM

    ooh,he called the ump stupid. toss people out for something affecting the game,not for personal offense.it’s all show. if the guy doesn’t take a swing so what. the ump can get his revenge later and make another iffy call.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Maddon has high hopes for Cubs
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. P. Sandoval (5120)
  2. H. Ramirez (4469)
  3. Y. Tomas (4205)
  4. J. Lester (3161)
  5. C. Headley (2834)
  1. Y. Cespedes (2365)
  2. M. Kemp (2264)
  3. A. LaRoche (1793)
  4. C. Hamels (1789)
  5. M. Scherzer (1738)