Skip to content

Video: Anthony Rizzo falls into the camera well to make a catch, rule 7.04(c) invoked

Jul 20, 2014, 9:40 PM EST

Anthony Rizzo Anthony Rizzo

Cubs first baseman Anthony Rizzo made a terrific catch in the bottom of the sixth inning on Sunday against the Diamondbacks, and also gave everybody a chance to brush up on rule 7.04(c).

The Diamondbacks had put runners on the corners with one out in the bottom of the sixth inning of a 1-1 ballgame against Cubs starter Jake Arrieta. Hill popped up a first-pitch fastball into foul territory on the first base side. Rizzo ranged over and snagged the ball before spilling over the fence into the camera well.

Rule 7.04(c) states that:

If a fielder, after having made a legal catch, should fall into a stand or among spectators or into the dugout or any other out-of-play area while in possession of the ball after making a legal catch, or fall while in the dugout after making a legal catch, the ball is dead and each runner shall advance one base, without liability to be put out, from his last legally touched base at the time the fielder fell into, or in, such out-of-play area.

As a result, Drew Peralta was allowed to score to give the Diamondbacks a 2-1 lead and Miguel Montero advanced to second base. It turned out to be a vital play as the Cubs went on to lose by a 3-2 margin.

Video of the play:

Prior to the catch, Rizzo had broken a scoreless tie with a solo home run off of Josh Collmenter in the top of the sixth inning. He now has 23 homers along with 53 RBI and a .281/.384/.522 slash line. The Cubs received Rizzo in the trade that sent Andrew Cashner to the Padres back in January 2012.

  1. SocraticGadfly - Jul 20, 2014 at 10:01 PM

    If you’re a manager, do you brush your players up on this? Even advise them to not make the catch with a runner on 3rd and less than 2 out?

    • Robert - Jul 21, 2014 at 2:43 AM

      I don’t think it would have mattered. Rizzo’s not thinking about falling into the dugout at that point, he’s thinking he’s got a shot at catching the ball in play. My first thought was that the runners advanced because he threw the ball back in play from off the field. I believe if an outfielder catches a ball and falls over the outfield fence, then throws the ball back in play before re-entering the field, the result is a home run.

      • mikhelb - Jul 21, 2014 at 4:15 AM

        “I believe if an outfielder catches a ball and falls over the outfield fence, then throws the ball back in play before re-entering the field, the result is a home run.”

        No.

  2. scoutsaysweitersisabust - Jul 20, 2014 at 10:11 PM

    Can’t fault Rizzo. Players are taught to make a play and don’t have the time to think about these sort of things. Otherwise a player may pull up lame and get significantly hurt. Gotta go after the ball and worry about the consequences later. Sucks he got burned making such a fine play, but that’s the way the cookie crumbles.

  3. 1harrypairatesties - Jul 20, 2014 at 10:22 PM

    Great catch by Rizzo. He also had a HR in this game as well as 2 HR’s a few nights ago. He’s having a monster year. Also a true gentleman & role model for the kids.

  4. general74 - Jul 20, 2014 at 10:27 PM

    I assume when he fell into the camera well the runners would have had time to tag up and advance anyway so I don’t really see the big deal.

  5. belgariontheking - Jul 20, 2014 at 10:31 PM

    I like the rule. Without the rule, the runners would be under “normal” fly out rules, which means they can tag up and advance as many bases as they please. Meanwhile, the fielder could have a broken arm and be unable to throw the ball to the infield.

  6. rollinghighwayblues - Jul 20, 2014 at 10:49 PM

    With it being Star Wars day at Chase Field, the real treat today was getting to listen to the DBacks walk up to the musical score of the trilogy. It was said that they showed Ken Towers on the jumbotron and they played the Darth Vader theme.

    • gloccamorra - Jul 21, 2014 at 11:59 PM

      It’s KEVIN. Kevin Towers. He likes his rosters shaken, not stirred.

  7. hgulkkcaj - Jul 20, 2014 at 11:00 PM

    I noticed Hill did not get credited with a sac fly on that play – wondering how they determine what’s a sac fly and what isn’t? Does it have to be out of the infield to get credit? Is it because Rizzo went out of play and that’s how the run scored?

    • jwbiii - Jul 20, 2014 at 11:30 PM

      The latter. You occasionally see popups caught by infielders scored as sac flies when the infielder is running away from the play.

  8. chadjones27 - Jul 21, 2014 at 9:27 AM

    Can someone explain why they have this rule? I figured, a better rule would be that once the player falls into the stands/dug out, the play is dead and it’s ruled a foul ball. No one advances, no one’s out. But to penalize the team making the “catch” seems a bit odd.

    • chadjones27 - Jul 21, 2014 at 9:30 AM

      one other thing about this rule, and like all things baseball this year, I have to mention Jeter. Several years back didn’t he dive into the stands to make a catch and then was lauded for how great a play it was?

      • sadpandarevolt - Jul 21, 2014 at 10:54 AM

        Looked at another way, this is protecting the team that makes the out. Think about how many bases a runner would be able to advance with the fielder in the stands after they tag up. Problem with your solution is that it erases an out that has been made for no real reason. The rule as is, is really the most fair way to handle this situation.

      • yankeefan1950 - Jul 21, 2014 at 4:15 PM

        It was a great play and it was within one of the greatest regular season games ever played. This rule didn’t come into play because it was the 3rd out of the inning so no one could advance. An interesting sidenote: It was the only time Arod ever played shortstop with the Yankees, Jeter had slammed face first into a seat and had to leave the game and since they had no more infielders left they had to put a catcher in to play 3rd base and Arod slid over to short. After the game Arod was asked how he felt playing shortstop again and he replied “don’t even go there”. For a brief instance he was likeable.

  9. thegreatstoneface - Jul 21, 2014 at 11:01 AM

    i dunno…from where he was, if he hadn’t gone into the stands, i don’t think the runner on third scores after the catch.

    what’s wrong with ‘if the fielder falls into the stands, the ball is dead at that point, period’

    • thegreatstoneface - Jul 21, 2014 at 11:02 AM

      i mean…unless you wanna give a guy credit for fouling out to the first baseman…doing his job so well and all…

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Featured video

Cubs shore up rotation with Jon Lester
Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. W. Myers (3304)
  2. J. Kang (3134)
  3. C. McGehee (2848)
  4. J. Upton (2833)
  5. W. Middlebrooks (2827)
  1. D. Ross (2649)
  2. T. Tulowitzki (2404)
  3. J. Shields (1926)
  4. D. Haren (1893)
  5. M. Kemp (1870)