Skip to content

Marlins place Henderson Alvarez on the disabled list

Aug 1, 2014, 5:47 PM EDT

henderson alvarez getty Getty Images

Henderson Alvarez has followed up last year’s no-hitter by being one of the best pitchers in the National League this season, but the Marlins have placed the 24-year-old right-hander on the disabled list with shoulder inflammation.

Alvarez leads the league with three complete-game shutouts in 22 starts and his 2.48 ERA ranks fourth behind only Clayton Kershaw, Adam Wainwright, and Johnny Cueto.

In four seasons as a big leaguer Alvarez has never topped 5.5 strikeouts per nine innings, but he’s an extreme ground-ball pitcher, has sliced his walk rate to 1.8 per nine innings, and is nearly impossible to take deep with a grand total of 10 homers allowed in 240 innings since last year.

  1. Old Gator - Aug 1, 2014 at 5:48 PM

    Ungood. Very ungood.

  2. unclemosesgreen - Aug 1, 2014 at 6:28 PM

    Double plus ungood

  3. jerze2387 - Aug 1, 2014 at 6:44 PM

    well, at least its not Tommy John. Looks like hes finally figuring out how to be consistent too. As somebody who had him in a fantasy league, i knew all about his Gem then clunker alternate games

  4. tomgiles1961 - Aug 1, 2014 at 10:26 PM

    I watched him get knocked around by the Mets a week or so ago. I wondered then if he was hurt as he usually eats up the Mets lineup.

  5. Jason Lukehart - Aug 2, 2014 at 8:31 AM

    If you’re fond of the Maddux, this is a big loss, because no active pitcher has a better knack for them than Alvarez. He’s got two of them this years, making him one of only 19 pitchers to do that, and he pitched one in 2013 and one in 2012, which makes him one of only three pitchers ever to throw one in three consecutive seasons. He’s the youngest pitcher ever to throw 4 Madduxes.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2824)
  2. D. Span (2391)
  3. G. Stanton (2297)
  4. J. Fernandez (2296)
  5. F. Rodney (2132)
  1. G. Springer (2079)
  2. M. Teixeira (2005)
  3. Y. Puig (1961)
  4. G. Perkins (1931)
  5. H. Olivera (1827)