Skip to content

Struggling reliever Chris Perez lands on disabled list with bone spurs in right ankle

Aug 4, 2014, 8:30 PM EDT

Chris Perez Getty Getty Images

Chris Perez has struggled mightily out of the Dodgers’ bullpen this season and now he’s headed to the disabled list with bone spurs in his right ankle.

Perez told Mark Saxon of ESPN Los Angeles that he’s been pitching through pain in his ankle for a couple of months, but legitimate injury or not, the Dodgers couldn’t keep running him out there. Signed to a one-year, $2.3 million contract over the winter, the  29-year-old has an ugly 5.03 ERA and 30/21 K/BB ratio over 39 1/3 innings this season. This includes six walks and just one strikeout over his last five appearances.

The Dodgers have called up right-hander Carlos Frias from Triple-A Albuquerque to take Perez’s spot on the active roster. The 24-year-old has posted a 4.58 ERA and 79/30 K/BB ratio in 123 2/3 innings over 20 starts and one relief appearance this season between Double- and Triple-A. Dan Haren has been awful of late, so Frias is a possibility to take his spot in the rotation on Wednesday against the Angels.

  1. historiophiliac - Aug 4, 2014 at 8:43 PM

    Hey, hey, you know what’s good for bone spurs?

    • moogro - Aug 4, 2014 at 9:17 PM

      Surgery. I’ve got spurs that jingle jangle jingle.

  2. janessa31888 - Aug 4, 2014 at 9:15 PM

    Wow, his beard is worse than ever.

  3. westcoastredbird - Aug 4, 2014 at 10:30 PM

    Out for the year with his medical marijuana card! I lover LA!

  4. takemytalentstosoutheuclid - Aug 5, 2014 at 7:48 AM

    He just hasn’t been the same since they took his dog’s weed away.

  5. 84cubs - Aug 5, 2014 at 10:29 AM

    Maybe he should start passing up the McDonalds drive-thru.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2818)
  2. C. Correa (2614)
  3. Y. Puig (2526)
  4. G. Stanton (2492)
  5. G. Springer (2429)
  1. H. Pence (2351)
  2. J. Hamilton (2198)
  3. M. Teixeira (2003)
  4. H. Ramirez (1974)
  5. J. Fernandez (1950)