Skip to content

Ernesto Frieri clears waivers, accepts Pirates’ assignment to Triple-A

Aug 14, 2014, 11:19 AM EDT

Chicago White Sox v Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim Getty Images

Ernesto Frieri went from being the Angels’ closer to being designated for assignment by the Pirates in less than two months and now he’s passed through waivers unclaimed, according to Chris Cotillo of MLB Daily Dish.

Frieri is only owed about $1 million for the remainder of this season, which isn’t a ton if some team wanted him as a reclamation project, but the problem is that his overall salary is $3.8 million and he’d be in line for similar money next year via the arbitration process. So to claim him with the intention to keep him for next season a team would have to think Frieri was worth $4 million or so in 2015.

Coming into this season that probably would have been a no-brainer, as Frieri had a career 2.76 ERA with 315 strikeouts in 231 innings. But he’s been a mess this season for two teams, posting a 7.34 ERA with 11 homers allowed in 42 innings. He’ll likely be non-tendered by the Pirates this offseason.

  1. jarathen - Aug 14, 2014 at 12:36 PM

    Frier is exactly why you don’t overpay for most relievers. There are occasional great ones, but a vast majority of them are only as good as a given season. Frieri started off crazy good in Anaheim, but even then his walks were troubling, and before long everyone knew his tailing fastball was coming, and when you combine that with a lack of command, boom, over.

  2. yahmule - Aug 14, 2014 at 1:51 PM

    Good pickup. Ray Searage has turned a few troubled pitchers around in his day.

  3. hardballtalkusername - Aug 14, 2014 at 10:55 PM

    Pretty one-sided trade in favor of the Angels. It helps that Grilli has more than just a fastball with no movement.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2738)
  2. Y. Puig (2402)
  3. G. Stanton (2357)
  4. C. Correa (2336)
  5. G. Springer (2260)
  1. H. Pence (2157)
  2. J. Hamilton (2073)
  3. M. Teixeira (1866)
  4. H. Ramirez (1861)
  5. J. Fernandez (1844)